1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: No Network Adapter under Device Manager

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by youy4ever, Dec 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. youy4ever

youy4ever Thread Starter

Hey, guys. This is my first time posting on this website. I really need help. I have a Dell XPS m1210. My friend just reinstalled my Laptop because a virus messed it up and now I cant go online. I tried installing all the drivers from the Dell's website but I still cant view the network adapter under device manager. I saw many posts about this problem on this website but I still can't fix the problem. When i clicked on the device manager, there is no network adapter section. It seems to disappear. I don't know what to do especially since I'm a computer illiterate. Please help you guys and thanks in advance :D

2. Saga Lout

Saga Lout

This sounds unlikely but I can only suggest that the adapter must be missing in BIOS. Restart and tap Delete or Function 2 key to go into BIOS or Setup menus, seek out the network adapter and enable it. Save the changes and you should see the adapter in Device Manager and the driver at Dell's site. If you key in the Service Tag reference, you'll get the drivers for the precise equipment they installed.

3. youy4ever

youy4ever Thread Starter

Ok, I know y there was no network adapter under the device manager now. I didnt enable it on the setup menu. No wonder my laptop cant connect to the internet. i didnt enable my wifi. I'm soo stupid. Thx alot, mister, u hav no idea how happy I am. Now, my christmas is perfect thx to u :) Ur a life-saver.

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!