1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: No picture on monitor

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by pl0x4, Dec 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pl0x4

pl0x4 Thread Starter

i bought a new monitor the other day, and its plugged in correctly, the motherboard is fine, everything works fine, but the monitor just won't recognize the wireless keyboard and mouse (and even the mouse i plugged in; and its either they aren't being detected, or there's a different problem). it just turns on, says "Auto Detect: entering power save", and the screen goes black. the computer had been freezing up beforehand, but its been like this for 2 days now. I'd like to get the monitor up and running again. I'm not too good with computers yet, so simplistic directions would be great, if this is even fixable.

2. Jtoast

Jtoast

I'm somewhat confused. Why would your monitor have anything to do with your keyboard and mouse? Are you saying that if the computer goes into sleep mode you can't wake it up with the keyboard and mouse or are you saying that when you boot the computer you do not get any video?

3. blackbox_ns

blackbox_ns

do you have a monitor with extra / expansion usb ports? if you do, remember, that usb power may not be suppilied on those ports. if your mouse and keyboard are drawing power, they may not operate.
    try a usb port directly out of the computer or place a hub between,
    mouse/keyborad--hub--monitor.

4. pl0x4

pl0x4 Thread Starter

right when i boot it up i dont get any video, but usually when it goes into powersave mode, you just shake the mouse, or press a few buttons on the keyboard and it wakes up. but when i start it up, the screen just stays black, but the PC is on.