Solved: No Power Options feature

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

GrannyGizz

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 20, 2009
Messages
46
I recently bought an Acer desktop computer running W-7. I cannot get either the Power Options or the Screen saver part to work. I set them but they do not hold. Any ideas what is wrong?
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
Please provide your model & model # of the Acer.

Which W7? 64 or 32 bit? Which SP?

When did the problems begin? Sometimes the exact date is important.

When did the computer last work well? What changed; a hardware or software installation or removal; an update to W7 [ check your W7 update history ] or update to your anti malware, or other antimalware program / programs ]; an update to Java or an Adobe program for example?

RF123
 

GrannyGizz

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 20, 2009
Messages
46
I bought the computer, probably in July 2012 and to the best of my knowledge, the Power Option feature has never worked. I really didn't care that much at the time because I thought, "Well, I'll get it going one of these days' but that time has come and I can't fix it. The machine is an Acer Aspire X3990, 6.00 GB of ram.64 bit OS, Home premium. I've kept up to date with all updates, virus/malware cchecks and everything else that I should. The machine works fine, other than this. If I change the setting to something other than "recommended", it seems to change but nothing actually happens. I thought I had a check-mark (or lack of) somewhere that needed to be changed but if that is the case, I can't find it.
Mary
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
Thanks, Mary, for the information.

Are you changing the basic power options or the advanced power options?

Which security programs [ anti malware to include anti virus & anti spyware ] are on your computer?

Is this computer part of a network?

Has W7's GodMode been enabled?

Has any user of this computer cleaned / adjusted the registry, either manually or using a program such as but not limited to C Cleaner?

Here's a tutorial for changing the power options.
http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/778-power-plan-settings-change.html

Has anyone created any security policies on your computer? W7 Home Premium does not include group policy editor, but it is possible to manually create securty policies; thus restrictions.

Would you consider yourself to be a beginning, intermediate or advanced computer user?

Go to Power Options.
Create a screen shot.
Create screen shots of every step. Please provide some narrative or description for each screen shot.

Here's a site that describes the process for creating screen shots using a tool / program built into W7; The Snipping Tool.
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/Use-Snipping-Tool-to-capture-screen-shots

After you have created the screen shot / shots, return to this thread.
Use "go advanced"
Left click "manage attachments"
Browse to the location of the screen shot file / files.
One at a time, left click "upload"
When finished, left click "close window"
Left click "submit reply".

You might want to check with Acer, or the vendor, to inquire about the warranty for such issues, as a last resort.

RF123
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
If a message or warning is displayed, please create a screen shot & post it, using the instructions, above.

RF123
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
Check the computer's BIOS [ sometimes called "setup" or CMOS ]
Please see http://www.manualslib.com/manual/232907/Acer-Aspire-X3990.html?page=28#manual

The BIOS section of the manual for your computer begins on page 22.

Instructions for accessing the BIOS are on page 21.
http://www.manualslib.com/manual/232907/Acer-Aspire-X3990.html?page=21#manual

Please be aware that making a mistake in the BIOS may render a computer unusable.

When I adjust the BIOS, I make only 1 change at a time. Then, I save the changes & exit. Then I test the computer.

I suggest, at this point, that you go into the BIOS and note the settings of the "Power Options" page, see http://www.manualslib.com/manual/232907/Acer-Aspire-X3990.html?page=28#manual

Either take a picture, transfer it to you computer, and upload it using the instructions provided, previously in this thread, or write down the categories & the setting [ likely enabled or disabled ].

RF123
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
Dear Mary:
I apologize for inundating you with information.

Firstly, I'd like you to answer the questions in #4 & #5 of this thread.

Then, please answer these questions.
When was the computer last updated?

Which power profile is currently in use?

Then, try clean boot troubleshooting, below.

Let us wait on checking the BIOS until we have checked other possibilities.

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
Mary:

Before following any steps, create a system restore point. It won't backupp your data, but it will help you re-set your computer, if needed.
start
RIGHT click "computer"
left click "properies"
upper left, left click "system protection"
lower right, left click "create"
give the restore point a name that will make sense to you.
The computer doesn't care if you call it "animal chow".

Do you have a wireless mouse connected?
If so, with the computer turned off, remove the mouse transceiver [ fits into a USB port ]
Turn on the computer & test

***
Is "Quiet Office" installed on your computer? It is standard on some ASUS laptops. It [ or a similar ] might program might be installed.
Check "programs & features" for Quiet Office
Clean booting will help us sort it out.


***
When was your computer last updated?
Open Control panel
Upper right, left click the "view by" arrow.
Select "large icons"
Open Windows Update
Upper left, left click "view update history"
If there are any failures, please double left click that failed update. A properties screen will appear. Create & post a screen shot.

Is it set to automatically update, or something else?

***
try a clean boot
start
in the search area, type: msconfig.exe
In the results area, left click it
The system configuration utility will open
If the computer is set to selective startup,
left click the "services" tab.
Create a screen shot.
You might have to create > 1 screen shot because sometimes there are too many items to fit, requiring a user to scroll up / down.

Then, left click the "startup" tab
Create screen shots as necessary so that we can see all of the items.
When finished, left click "cancel"

Return here & upload the screen shots

If your computer is in normal startup,
left click "services" tab
left click"hide all Microsoft services"
THEN, left click "disable all"
Left click the "startup" tab
Left click "disable all"
Left click "ok"
Left click "yes" to rebooting your computer.
Upon reboot, you will be notifed that the computer is running in selective startup.
Left click "don't show this again" or simillar verbage

test your system.


RF123
 

GrannyGizz

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 20, 2009
Messages
46
Dear Mary:
I apologize for inundating you with information.

Firstly, I'd like you to answer the questions in #4 & #5 of this thread.

Then, please answer these questions.
When was the computer last updated?

Which power profile is currently in use?

Then, try clean boot troubleshooting, below.

Let us wait on checking the BIOS until we have checked other possibilities.

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
Mary:

Before following any steps, create a system restore point. It won't backupp your data, but it will help you re-set your computer, if needed.
start
RIGHT click "computer"
left click "properies"
upper left, left click "system protection"
lower right, left click "create"
give the restore point a name that will make sense to you.
The computer doesn't care if you call it "animal chow".

Do you have a wireless mouse connected?
If so, with the computer turned off, remove the mouse transceiver [ fits into a USB port ]
Turn on the computer & test

***
Is "Quiet Office" installed on your computer? It is standard on some ASUS laptops. It [ or a similar ] might program might be installed.
Check "programs & features" for Quiet Office
Clean booting will help us sort it out.


***
When was your computer last updated?
Open Control panel
Upper right, left click the "view by" arrow.
Select "large icons"
Open Windows Update
Upper left, left click "view update history"
If there are any failures, please double left click that failed update. A properties screen will appear. Create & post a screen shot.

Is it set to automatically update, or something else?

***
try a clean boot
start
in the search area, type: msconfig.exe
In the results area, left click it
The system configuration utility will open
If the computer is set to selective startup,
left click the "services" tab.
Create a screen shot.
You might have to create > 1 screen shot because sometimes there are too many items to fit, requiring a user to scroll up / down.

Then, left click the "startup" tab
Create screen shots as necessary so that we can see all of the items.
When finished, left click "cancel"

Return here & upload the screen shots

If your computer is in normal startup,
left click "services" tab
left click"hide all Microsoft services"
THEN, left click "disable all"
Left click the "startup" tab
Left click "disable all"
Left click "ok"
Left click "yes" to rebooting your computer.
Upon reboot, you will be notifed that the computer is running in selective startup.
Left click "don't show this again" or simillar verbage

test your system.


RF123
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2010
Messages
3,992
Get better Mary, so sorry to hear this. You can click on the Solved icon at top of page. Please come back when your doing better.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2004
Messages
8,256
Please send me a private message when you re-open the thread.

Heal completely & quickly.

Unsubscribed

RF123
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top