1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

{SOLVED} no power to hard drive

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by tjameson, Dec 1, 2000.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tjameson

    tjameson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    7
    I install a new modem in my system and while inside i accidently unplugged the wiring to power switch, can any one help me get them in the right order... i have NO power at all to system...any help will be greatly appreciated... thanks tj
     
  2. Chris A

    Chris A

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Messages:
    3,212
    If it is just two wires going to the power switch just put them back on. If it dont work switch them..
     
  3. LarryCore

    LarryCore

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 1999
    Messages:
    5,223
    If it is ATX the above is correct.

    If it is AT... do you mean the cords going to the actual on / off switch on the case or do you mean the power supply cables to the motherboard?

    ------------------
    Get free stuff and help out a poor computer tech:
    LarryCore begs for money

    Vote for the best Tech Support site: VOTE for Helponthe.net!
     
  4. tjameson

    tjameson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    7
    there are 5 plugs-- 2 with one wire(one white and the other is green, and 3 with 2 wires (one with white and black, one with white and red, and one white and orange)
     
  5. LarryCore

    LarryCore

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 1999
    Messages:
    5,223
    Ok, those are the power connector, and the LEDs for power and hard drive activity.

    At least, that's what the 3 with 2 wires should be. I'm not sure what those extra one wire ones are.

    They are not labeled? Try tracing them back to the other end - one of the 2 wire ones should go to the power switch itself. There should be a spot on the motherboard labeled power switch, PWR SWTCH, ATX PWR, or something like that - that's where that one goes. That will get you power.

    The others are, as I said, LEDs - nice, but not required.



    ------------------
    Get free stuff and help out a poor computer tech:
    LarryCore begs for money

    Vote for the best Tech Support site every day: VOTE for Helponthe.net!
     
  6. tjameson

    tjameson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    7
    Larry,

    thanks a million... it works ..... finally.... it took me about 5 tries to get the right order..


    tj
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/34491

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice