1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: No service packs on XP and would not load service pack 1a

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by karenfoiles, Aug 10, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. karenfoiles

karenfoiles Thread Starter

Hello I'm new here...

I know enough about IT to be dangerous.lol I used to be a help desk tech support for about 10 years
    but after being laid off 3 years ago I am rusty. As the saying goes "use it ot lose it" and I lost it... lol

ANyway I have an old Gateway laptop (given to me by someone who was going to throw it out and don't have the CD that came with it) I had Windows Mellennium on it , I installed XP on it instead.I don't think I uninstalled ME as I figured XP would just replace. This an old version that my "ex-husband" had who was an IT guy. This CD did not have any service packs loaded on it and I'm trying to figure out how to load all of there service packs or determine if it's even worth it... I went to MS website to download them and had trouble loading 1A, it said my system could not support it? Mmmm Don't know if there is something fishy about the cd or what... It installed fine and it accepted the product key and I can hit the web with it (via dial up) too. No error messages at this time.

Window XP professional 2002 Version 5.1 build 2600xpclient.010817-1148
    SYSINFO UTILITY INFO:
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional,, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel Pentium III processor, x86 Family 6 Model 8 Stepping 6
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 127 Mb
    Graphics Card: S3 Graphics Inc. SavageIX, 8 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 9580 MB, Free - 7614 MB;
    Motherboard: Gateway, Solo5300
    Antivirus: None

Thanks in advance, Karen

2. SUEOHIO

SUEOHIO

First Name:
    SUE