1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] No Sound after downloading windows update

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by alicatt, Jan 26, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. alicatt

alicatt Thread Starter

Hi:

I need a little help. I just downloaded a windows device driver update. After rebooting I have no sound at all. I have tried to uninstall the update, reinstall the original driver, Tried to use system restore (I have Windows ME) no luck. Rebooted a few million times. I have no clue. You will have to bear with me I am a novice at this. I have the Advanced AC97 Audio for VIA(R) Audio Controller as the driver. Listed for this computer.

Any Ideas? I really apprieciate any help you can give me.

Thanks

:p

2. ~Candy~

~Candy~ Retired Administrator

Hi alicatt, welcome to TSG.

Have you checked the normal stuff, sound card still showing up in device manager, volume controls, etc.?

3. alicatt

alicatt Thread Starter

Thanks for getting back to me. Yeah, I checked all the normal stuff. The driver is operating properly and there are no conflicts. I can even Play the Media player every things works you just don't hear anything.

Let me know if anything comes to mind.

4. ~Candy~

Let's take a look here anyway, open the volume control icon, go to options, properties, place a check mark in everything under playback....now go back and be sure that nothing is muted and the volume levels are up.....also, the speakers are turned on if they are powered? And just for fun, be sure that you have them plugged into the right jack and it's secure......cats have a habit of disconnecting things :D

5. alicatt

alicatt Thread Starter