[SOLVED] No Sound

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

the5murphys

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Messages
3
HELP :eek:
I have no sound coming from my speakers...either from programs or internet usage...I hear the dial-up access coming thru them when I dial the internet so I know that they are working and hooked up right. I have gone thru all of the windows HELP tutorials and even have Nortons that I used to check out the problem but nothing! It seems as though everything is right but I still get no sound.
I'm running Windows ME.
I am at a loss :confused:
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Does the modem dial tone etc actually come from your speakers? Sounds like you have something hooked up incorrectly. What type of modem and sound card do you have? I have heard of this when people were using voice/data/fax modems and they hook their speakers up to the modems speaker out connection.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Messages
60
Try going into Safe Mode and going into Device Manager (right click on My Computer and click on Properties) and seeing if you have anything under Sound Video and Game Controllers that is shown twice. Also need to know what kind of computer you have as I know with Hewlett Packards the best place to plug in the speakers is in the modem (has a modem sound card combo). This is only on certain models though. Give us some more details on what kind of computer, sound card, processor, memory, etc. that you have. Hope this helps.:)
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
741
right click the little speaker icon and make sure the mute box has not been checked happend to me once
 

the5murphys

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Messages
3
:D
Thank- you Rockin for your advice....IT WORKED...I now have sound.
I did have it plugged into a speaker out connection..it's so hard to read those little things on the backside of a computer! I now have it hooked to my sound card and it's working great..halleuigh (?)
My kiddos thank you as well...they can now play games!
;)
 

the5murphys

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Messages
3
I also want to say thanks to everyone who took time to respond...it was very kind of you:cool:
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top