1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: No system restore

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by mickeyflame, Jan 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mickeyflame

    mickeyflame Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Having issues with PC rebooting for no apparent reason, system/boot too slow. Cannot run system restore even though restore is on and there are restore points to choose from.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    have you tried in safemode - keep tapping F8 as the pc starts and choose safemode from the menu
     
  3. mickeyflame

    mickeyflame Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Yes I meant to mention, I tried it in safe mood as well, still no joy:(
     
  4. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,546
    PLease tell us WHAT you have tried.
    It will save time.
    Are you able to say that there is the appropriate free space on the hard drive.
    Do you have the XP CD to load recovery console.
    If so and it will load a chkdsk /r may be a good starting point.
    In recovery console chkdsk /p is chk for file errors and chkdsk /r includes p but is also a scan for bad sectors.

    Presuming that C is the HDD carrying Windows that is "chkdsk c: /r"

    CHKDSK

    chkdsk drive /p /r
    The chkdsk command checks the specified drive and repairs or recovers the drive if the drive requires it. The command also marks any bad sectors and it recovers readable information.

    You can use the following options: /p Does an exhaustive check of the drive and corrects any errors.
    /r Locates bad sectors and recovers readable information.
    Note If you specify the /r option, the /p option is implied. When you specify the chkdsk command without arguments, the command checks the current drive with no options in effect.
     
  5. mickeyflame

    mickeyflame Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Sorry Etaf, meant mode not mood;)
     
  6. mickeyflame

    mickeyflame Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Wow! thanks Macboatmaster, this is gonna take some time. Yes I have plenty space on HD, also xp cd. Just uninstalled some redundant software. Will try your suggestions shortly. (In about 20 mins when PC finally reboots... grrr)
     
  7. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,546
    Go F2 normally , may be delete as soon as it posts - check on post screen it will normnally indicate to enter setup press ?.
    Set CD as first boot device.
    Boot from XP CD
    Select the repair option - recovery console.

    See this if you are unsure.
    http://pcsupport.about.com/od/fixtheproblem/ss/rconsole.htm
     
  8. mickeyflame

    mickeyflame Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks for your input guys, Had no joy with any of the suggestions, it would appear that the HAL.DLL is corrupt so formatting and reinstalling but I suspect the HDD is on its way out. If I'm right will post to let you know for future reference. All the best and thanks again.
     
  9. mickeyflame

    mickeyflame Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    I was right, the HD is f'd. Windows install cannot format it and formatting via DOS fails at 72%. New disc methinks!
     
  10. Focke

    Focke

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4
  11. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,546
    Well at least on the face of it you know it is the hard drive.
    I would take it out and run a check with it in another computer - JUST IN CASE.
    and you could run seatools disckcheck for dos first in situ, which will work on any hard drive.

    http://www.seagate.com/www/en-us/support/downloads/seatools
    You can also run system restore from the recovery console, but of course if you cannot access the recovery console that is of little assistance.
     
  12. mickeyflame

    mickeyflame Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Reinstalled windows onto new sata drive. Don't know why i didn't do this years ago... Everything hunky dory now, just needed a bit a push to get my arse in gear, thanks again fellers.:)
     
  13. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,546
    Pleased its sorted.
    Pls mark thread solved.
     
  14. mickeyflame

    mickeyflame Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Macboatmaster how do you mark a post as solved? I've looked at the tut vid and it says there should be a link at the top of the original post, buggered if I can find it:confused:
     
  15. mickeyflame

    mickeyflame Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Sorry dismiss last post!
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/976445

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice