Solved: no usb 2.0 controller in gx270

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

barncat

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
253
This optiplex gx270 shows usb ports installed in device manager, xp pro...but, unknown device is shown with question mark.....

have received warning page notice that usb 2.0 controllers are not installed.

where is usb 2.0 controller?

anyone know where i might beable to view chassis layout online?

thanks
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
System info would be here.

Is the problem something new? Did you do anything before the message started like reformat the drive? In Device Manager open USB controllers. Any problems there? Chipset driver may not be installed.
 

barncat

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
253
thank you.....i see no usb controller card, then i saw a post where the 270 supports usb 2.0, so it must be a driver....

computer was purchased with system ghosted to it inorder to restore...

device manager shows usb 1.0 ports as okay......

there is an "unknown device" with question marks...i think that must be the usb 2.0 controllers...(or whatever 2.0 needs)...

i found a procedure to install dIntel® ICH5 USB 2.0 controller drivers...
i hope that is what i need.....

thanks......
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2006
Messages
73
norton850 said:
barncat's system specs posted as (just took another look :eek: )
os95HD
os98hd

In order to get USB 2.0 a separate USB 2.0 card will be needed.
From that I'm guessing you mean his USB ports aren't 2.0 to start with??

I quote from the specs page of the link you gave:
"two front-panel and six back-panel USB 2.0–compliant connectors"

Basically all you need to do is update to SP2 (if the install isn't SP2 to begin with) and update your chipset drivers to the latest release. Your USB controllers would then be recognised :)

// Edit: You can get the correct chipset drivers by going to Dell's Support website and viewing the downloads for your specific model of PC.

MF
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
Just to clarify things since I deleted the post MaidenFan is referring to. The Optiplex in questions should be fine with USB 2.0. If you look at barncat's specs he/she does not list a WinXP OS. So I got confused. Is the Optiplex the system in his post (which I doubt) in which case the OS is the problem or are we dealing with two computers.
 

barncat

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
253
Thanks people, for all of the input and links.....

I am sorry my post was not really constructed clearly.......

yes, sp2 is listed as installed....i'll follow that route....

I have never had usb ports, and i thought a pci or other card was needed......just a small part of my confusion.....navigation of website, like dell's , is also a problem....have a hard time finding what i need to look for and then finding that.....

you all have helped a lot,,,,thanks, appreciate your time and effort...
 

barncat

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
253
Thanks triple,,,,got it dwnlwd...will install when i get another monitor...
 

barncat

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
253
I have not used usb before this machine.....device mang shows no problems now, but only one of the ports is shown as usb 2.0....

how would i know if i am connected to usb 2.0?...i have received a message that i am connected at standard speed; will i always receive that message if i am not using 2.0?

also, should i click on usb disconnect icon before pulling connector from external hd?

thank you....
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
If you mean in device manager, only 1 controller will show usb 2.0 but when it does they all are.
 

barncat

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
253
Yes, device manager...everything looks okay now.....that is strange that only one of 5 shows as 2.0, but at least i have high speed now!

is there some kind of program that will tell me at what speed data is being transfered?....what would it be called?

thanks....
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top