Solved: No video in Windows. Video ok in Linux and setup.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

madca02

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2015
Messages
3
After I boot I'm able to see the setup screen. However when Windows Vista starts up I have no video. I hear a Windows notification beep where I would normally enter my password. I have tried safe mode (I think I'm in safe mode because I constantly hit F8 as the system is coming up) and the same thing happens, I hear a Windows notification beep where I would normally enter my password.

I"m able to boot up Acronis True Image and have video, I believe this a Linux application.

This is very baffling and just started with no modifications being made.

Thanks for any feedback,
Carlos
 

Oddba11

Jim
It's My Birthday!
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
8,336
If you are actually booting in Safe Mode, there is a message displayed on the screen as the desktop loads. Based on what you are seeing, I'd say that you are not actually entering Safe Mode.

>> http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/...-safe-mode#start-computer-safe-mode=windows-7

Most common cause is corrupt video drivers. In which case you simply boot into Safe Mode and delete/change the video driver. Reboot and it should boot into Windows normally. At which point you can reinstall the latest approved video driver for your system.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,071
Some motherboards go into a boot device menu if you tap F8, are you sure yours does not ?

Assuming it doesn't after tapping F8 wait a while (or until you hear the beep) then press Enter, that should start Safe Mode.
 

madca02

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2015
Messages
3
Thanks for your response. I'm unable to see any windows related messages only initial boot setup and Linux apps display.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,071
Yes I know but you could be able to get into Safe Mode anyway doing what I posted earlier.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,453
It would be helpful if you posted ALL of your exact system specs ie exact mb, exact ram, exact video card, exact pw supply, etc, etc. Do not post "500W pw supply" post the exact brand and model#

What happens if you boot with your vista install disk?
 

madca02

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2015
Messages
3
Thanks for the responses. I've restored my system from backup and all is well.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top