Solved: No wireless connection on notebook

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

rne783

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2003
Messages
76
Hello everybody!

I recently switched my 2 desktops, one from wireless to hard wired, and the other from hard wired to wireless. Everything seems to be running smoothly, and I haven't had any real problems with the 2 desktops.

However, I have a notebook, which was connecting fine before the switch, now does not connect at all.

It does SAY it is connected to the Linksys router, and the connection strength is "excellent", but I can not get online. I keep getting the "www.google.com could not be found" error box.

When I go into Wireless Network Connection Status, it says status is connected, network is linksys, speed is 11.0mbps, signal strength is all 5 bars.. but under "activity" it says Packets being sent is 183 and packets being recieved is 27. Is that bad?

Any suggestions would be appreciated :D

Thanks!

Renee
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
6
try refreshing your Wireless and re-conecting, or shut down the wireless PC and re-boot
 

rne783

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2003
Messages
76
Did that. I even went into properties and removed that connection from the list, then put it back. Is it just that the signal is to weak? Does that low number of recieved packets mean anything?
 

rne783

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2003
Messages
76
Can I do this speed test without being online?? I can not get online remember.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,423
Router brand and model? Notebook brand and model? Notebook's wireless adapter brand and model? What encryption are you using?

What changes, if any, did you make to the router's wireless configuration between when the notebook connected and now?

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

rne783

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2003
Messages
76
Ok, well this is really strange. There seems to be a problem opening the ipconfig window. I type it in like you said "ipconfig / all" and then hit ok, and then the window with the black screen opens, but for like a second, then it closes. I did this over and over and it just keeps basically flashing the screen and then closes. Then I tried this on my desktop that I am using right now, and the same thing happened. Is this normal?

To answer your other questions, the model router is Linksys Wireles B BEFW11S4, the notebook is an HP Intel Celeron M, OS is XP Home. Wireless adapter is Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN. Encryption is disabled.
 

rne783

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2003
Messages
76
Ok so I did the cmd thing again and it worked this time.

Here are the results:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Lori>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : HPLaptop
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-A5-14-9A-42
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.10
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 38.9.212.2
38.9.213.2

C:\Documents and Settings\Lori>
 

rne783

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2003
Messages
76
I think I may have just fixed the problem. I just changed the DNS server adresses to match the ones on the other desktops and it seems to be working now. I noticed they were different and decided to give it a shot, and I suppose that probably was a rather important piece of information I was missing. So I am assuming that before I did the switch, there was a different DNS adress than there is now, and I just hadn't switched the notebook to match, or, it just switched all by itself for no good reason.... :D

All of this is just so confusing to me even after all these years, but I suppose now I get a better understanding of it all.

Thanks for your help once again!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top