1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: no wireless internet on win xp Home

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Bailiwick, Dec 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Bailiwick

    Bailiwick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Hi - I just did a complete reinstall of win xp home on my IBM T422372 4WU. Everything seems to work just fine, except that I cannot connect wirelessly to the net. I have tried everything, but cannot get connected. The device hardware is all working, including the network card. I have tried installing new drivers. But no go. Any thoughts.

    Thanks in advance.

    Jon

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1.70GHz, x86 Family 6 Model 13 Stepping 6
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 2046 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI MOBILITY RADEON 7500, 32 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 100000 MB, Free - 91327 MB;
    Motherboard: IBM, 23734WU
    Antivirus: avast! Antivirus, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,411
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see a ipconfig /all
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    This should also work for windows 8
    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Bailiwick

    Bailiwick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Here it is:



    Windows IP Configuration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : jonibm

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : home



    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/1000 MT Mobile Connection

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-25-13-E0-C8

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.6

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::211:25ff:fe13:e0c8%4

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1

    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1

    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1

    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, December 27, 2012 7:18:13 PM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, December 28, 2012 7:18:13 PM



    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::ffff:ffff:fffd%5

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled



    Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : home

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-A8-01-06

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.6%2

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1

    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1

    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1

    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,824
    First Name:
    Terry
    There is no hint of wireless hardware there.

    What is listed in Device Manager under Network Adapters?

    What, if any, warnings or errors are anywhere in Device Manager?
     
  5. Bailiwick

    Bailiwick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Hi - First, again thanks.
    Under Network Adapters in Device Manager I see "Intel Pro/1000 MT Mobile Connection" I have downloaded and installed the driver several times, and ried to update it from both the IBM and Intel sites. There is no indication that there is any problem - no yellow question marks, no red x's, and all hardware, including this, is noted as enabled and working properly. I should note that prior to the incident which caused me to reinstall Win XP, everything was working properly. And everything but this is working fine now too, including my cable connection to the net. If my shoky memory serves, I think I had this problem once before on this computer., but I can't remember how I solved it. Also, I use wireless on several other computers, so it is definitely not a problem with my ISP, which is Verizon FIOS.

    Again, thanks.

    Best,

    Jon
     
  6. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    101,909
    First Name:
    Mark
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,824
    First Name:
    Terry
    I assume that you are trying to use an integrated adapter.

    Check in the BIOS (Setup) to see if the wireless somehow got disabled there.

    If you can easily access the adapter through a cover on the laptop's bottom remove and carefully and firmly replace it several times. This will fix any potential looseness or corrosion problem.
     
  8. Bailiwick

    Bailiwick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Hi - Many thanks to you both for your suggestions, but I still can't solve this problem. Several questions -
    1 - Can I use a USB or PCMCIA card for wireless rather than the installed card, which appears to be either defective or MIA? If i can just as effectively ue a card or USB device and get connected wirelessly, I'll be fine and the rest of my questions below become academic and not worth answering. Also, sine I've used both PCMCIA and USB adapters,in the past, is there as of this date any preference for one over the other?
    2 - I'm afraid that checking the installed card itself is above my pay grade, but I'd be surprised if it became loose, as I never move the computer and it was working perfectly before this mess started. Am I correct in thinking that the adapter would not show in the device list if the correct driver had not been downloaded - or would it show without a driver?
    3 - Finally, I have tried every driver suggested by you and listed on both the Intel and Lenovo websites with no success. I would think that if the adapter itself is kaput, then a driver install - all of which seem to have been "successful," by which I mean that the install program indicated a successful install - would be nonproductive?

    In any case, if a USB adapter or card can be use, my problem will be solved for far less than diagnostic testing somewhere and I'll be a very happy man.

    Again, your help is sincerely appreciated and my best for a Happy New Year.

    Jon
     
  9. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    101,909
    First Name:
    Mark
    I've found that if the proper drivers are not installed for a wireless card, there are times when it will not show up in the Device Manager listing.

    That said, however, you can certainly use a USB or PC Card device. The USB would probably provide more flexibility, especially the ones with an extension cable that allow you to position the device for better reception. It doesn't necessarily have to plug directly into the laptop. With the cable, you can elevate it for better reception.

    Happy New Year to you, too!
     
  10. Bailiwick

    Bailiwick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Hi - I think that will do it for me then. Who knows what happened here, but for a few dollars to get the USB adapter, it's not worth any more of my time or yours.

    Again, your time and effort on this are much appreciated. I'll mark it solved when I get the card and have the wireless working.

    Best,

    Jon
     
  11. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    101,909
    First Name:
    Mark
    It does seem the easiest fix. Glad to help!

    You may want to disable the onboard adapter in BIOS, if you can. If nothing else, it will save some power.
     
  12. Bailiwick

    Bailiwick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Hi - Well I went out and bought a beautiful wireless adapted, hooked it up and voila, I had ca great connection. Then, wiredly enough, my onboard adapter showed up in Device Manager,so I installed a driver, and, lo and behold, it started working. So I waited a few days after disconnecting the new adapter to make sure the onbiard adapter was indeed working, and then I returned the adapter I had just bought. Strange, but true. Who knows why, In any case, I just wanted to thank you both for all your help.

    Till net time.

    Best,

    Jon
     
  13. Gr3iz

    Gr3iz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    101,909
    First Name:
    Mark
    Strange things do happen ... ;-)

    You can mark this thread Solved when you're done with it. Glad it all worked out!
     
    Adrielallen likes this.
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved wireless internet
  1. jaygail
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    122
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1082602

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice