1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

(Solved) Norton anti virus

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Rayhawqa, Oct 19, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Rayhawqa

    Rayhawqa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    I keep getting thew following msg popping up on my screen in windows. "Norton Antivirus Realtime Protection failed to load." I don't know why it won't load. Following is a copy from my hijack this log;

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.3
    Scan saved at 9:23:10 PM, on 10/19/2003
    Platform: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SSDPSRV.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONE-TOUCH MULTIMEDIA KEYBOARD\MMKEYBD.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ICE\BLACKICE\BLACKD.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MESSENGER PLUS! 2\MSGPLUS.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\RTVSCN95.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\DEFWATCH.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONE-TOUCH MULTIMEDIA KEYBOARD\KEYBDMGR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONSCREEN DISPLAY\OSD.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONE-TOUCH MULTIMEDIA KEYBOARD\MMUSBKB2.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HPSYSDRV.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MOTIVE\MOTMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADAPTEC\DIRECTCD\DIRECTCD.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\APPLICATION DATA\MSBB.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\APPLICATION DATA\PRDCHOOL.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\VPTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\RunDLL.exe
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\AWS\WEATHERBUG\WEATHER.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\EZULA\MMOD.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\ZSE8144.TMP
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADSGONE\ADSGONE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WEBSHOTS\WEBSHOTSTRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ICE\BLACKICE\BLACKICE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\MESSENGER\YMSGR_TRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\BACKWEB\BACKWEB\PROGRAM\BACKWEB.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\TD_0005.DIR\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://mysearchnow.com/searchbar.html
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://mysearchnow.com/searchbar.html
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.microsoft.com/isapi/redir.dll?prd={SUB_PRD}&clcid={SUB_CLSID}&pver={SUB_PVER}&ar=home
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://mysearchnow.com/searchbar.html
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://mysearchnow.com/searchbar.html
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.microsoft.com/isapi/redir.dll?prd=ie&pver=6&ar=msnhome
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://srch-us2.hpwis.com
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = http://mysearchnow.com/searchbar.html
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = localhost
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
    O2 - BHO: Natural Language Navigation - {60E78CAC-E9A7-4302-B9EE-8582EDE22FBF} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\BHO001.DLL
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {d47be9ac-de9b-4aea-8c12-e9a253ed6039} - C:\WINDOWS\APPLICATION DATA\TRIEOUVRLBL.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PCHealth] C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\Support\PCHSchd.exe -s
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [hpsysdrv] c:\windows\system\hpsysdrv.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MotiveMonitor] C:\Program Files\Motive\motmon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WorksFUD] C:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\wkfud.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Microsoft Works Portfolio] C:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\WksSb.exe /AllUsers
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Microsoft Works Update Detection] C:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\WkDetect.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Adaptec DirectCD] C:\Program Files\ADAPTEC\DIRECTCD\DIRECTCD.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WINSTART001.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\System\WINSTART001.EXE -b
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadQM] loadqm.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [msbb] C:\WINDOWS\APPLICATION DATA\MSBB.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [BEKO] C:\WINDOWS\BEKO.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [vptray] C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\vptray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SSDPSRV] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ssdpsrv.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [*StateMgr] C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Keyboard Manager] c:\Program Files\Netropa\One-touch Multimedia Keyboard\MMKeybd.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadBlackD] C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ICE\BLACKICE\BLACKD.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [MessengerPlus2] "C:\Program Files\Messenger Plus! 2\MsgPlus.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [rtvscn95] C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\rtvscn95.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [defwatch] C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\defwatch.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Taskbar Display Controls] RunDLL deskcp16.dll,QUICKRES_RUNDLLENTRY
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Yahoo! Pager] C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\MESSENGER\ypager.exe -quiet
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Weather] C:\PROGRAM FILES\AWS\WEATHERBUG\WEATHER.EXE 1
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [eZmmod] C:\PROGRA~1\ezula\mmod.exe
    O4 - Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
    O4 - Startup: AdsGone.lnk = C:\Program Files\AdsGone\adsgone.exe
    O4 - Startup: HP Updates.lnk = C:\Program Files\BackWeb\BackWeb\Program\backweb.exe
    O4 - Startup: Webshots.lnk = C:\Program Files\Webshots\WebshotsTray.exe
    O4 - Startup: BlackICE Utility.lnk = C:\Program Files\Network ICE\BlackICE\blackice.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: AdsGone (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: &AdsGone Settings (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: WeatherBug (HKCU)
    O12 - Plugin for .mov: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\npqtplugin.dll
    O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://hp.my.yahoo.com
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37913.6474884259
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Chat - http://us.chat1.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/i/chat/applet/c381/chat.cab
     
  2. buddhafabio

    buddhafabio

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,246
    try un installing and reinstall it
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, you have your search page hijacked, as well as several other questionable BHO objects. I also see WEATHER.EXE which is another piece of spyware.

    Finally, I'd sure want to know what these are, because I don't recognize them. :)

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WINSTART001.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\System\WINSTART001.EXE -b
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadQM] loadqm.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [msbb] C:\WINDOWS\APPLICATION DATA\MSBB.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [BEKO] C:\WINDOWS\BEKO.exe
     
  4. buddhafabio

    buddhafabio

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,246
    loadqm.exe is a compaq exe
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I suspect that anything that Compaq loads isn't essential. :D
     
  6. buddhafabio

    buddhafabio

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,246
    yeah you can definitely msconfig that one. and when i had me on my compaq i figured out how to uninstall or disabler most of those.
     
  7. Rayhawqa

    Rayhawqa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Any and all suggestions are greatly appreciated. Now as soon as I can pry my daughter apart from the computer, I will put these advices to work. May have to call a Dr. and have her surgically removed. LOL
    As for what some of those entries are..... I am clueless.
     
  8. Rayhawqa

    Rayhawqa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    buddhafabio.... you say i can msconfig the loadqm thing......but what do i do once i get to msconfig? not real familiar with that dark and forbidding area of my computers.
     
  9. Rayhawqa

    Rayhawqa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    buddhafabio.... you say i can msconfig the loadqm thing......but what do i do once i get to msconfig? not real familiar with that dark and forbidding area of my computers.
     
  10. buddhafabio

    buddhafabio

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,246
    just make sure you have these check marked in start up

    [SystemTray]
    [LoadPowerProfile]
    [rtvscn95]
    [defwatch]
    [vptray]
    [TaskMonitor]

    these are the essentials for booting the rest wont start till you want them and click on them.

    you will see a significant improvement in your boot time.
     
  11. Rayhawqa

    Rayhawqa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks for the advice folks. I followed all that was said above + uninstalled norton again then reinstl'd again. Now it works just fine.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/173219

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice