Solved: not able to access wifi.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Elisethupochu

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 1, 2015
Messages
8
I am not able to access wifi on my laptop. But when I connect the ethernet cable, I am able to access the internet on my laptop. when I tried "ipconfig" on my laptops command prompt, I am getting a message called "media disconnect". Can you please help me with this? My os is:win 8.1

But I am able to connect other devices to my wifi.

I have attached the screen shots for your reference.
 

Attachments

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,478
whats the make and model of the PC
if a laptop - make sure wireless is switched on

try a tcp/ip reset

------------------------------------------------------------------------

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista - Windows 7 - Windows 8 and Windows 10

For Windows Vista through to Windows 10
Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):​

For Windows 8
To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

  • Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter
  • Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter
  • Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter
ReStart (reboot) the machine.

If you receive the message
The requested operation requires elevation.
Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):
Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
Access is Denied
This often occurs with windows 8

please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Details also here
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
also the link has a Microsoft Fix it , which will do the above for you

------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Elisethupochu

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 1, 2015
Messages
8
How do I make sure that wireless is switched on. I am able to see those 3 bars on the right hand side of my laptop.

Thanks/Susan
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,478
then it will be switched on
if you put the mouse over the three bars - what does a pop say ?
 

Elisethupochu

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 1, 2015
Messages
8
When I put my mouse over the three bars and click on it(
this is how I usually connect to my wifi). I get the following message "cant connect to this network".
 

Elisethupochu

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 1, 2015
Messages
8
Yes I tried it tcp/ip reset. I am getting the message as "requested operation requires elevation".
 

Elisethupochu

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 1, 2015
Messages
8
I have tried everything except "resetting router" because I dont think the problem is with my router because I am able to connect my other devices to my router.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
Yes I tried it tcp/ip reset. I am getting the message as "requested operation requires elevation".
For Windows 8 thru 10 to open elevated command prompt: <Windows Logo> + x - Command Prompt(Admin)

Were you ever able to access this wireless network? If so, have you Restarted since the problem began?

If you've never been able to access this network have you successfully connected to any other wireless network?
 

Elisethupochu

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 1, 2015
Messages
8
Yes I have used this wifi on my laptop several times. After I changed my wifi password I am facing this problem. No I havent tried connecting to any other wifi, I have to try it.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
After I changed my wifi password I am facing this problem.
Delete your wireless profile and try again to connect. I think in Windows 8.1 that means to click or right click on your network and tell it to "forget." (Not on 8.1 now, so cannot immediately check that.)
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,478
Did the forget network work
method 1 in the link i posted was the first thing to try

As you followed the link and did everything except the router reset
I would be interested for future similar issues to know what you did to resolve the issue ?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,397
You're welcome.

As you followed the link and did everything except the router reset
I would be interested for future similar issues to know what you did to resolve the issue ?
Me too! :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top