Solved: Not much info to go on yet...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

c0796

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 21, 2008
Messages
93
My apologies for not having much info to go on with this query, hopefully you experts can help me get the appropriate data.

My cousins office, approx 30 people, have a T1 internet line. He mentioned that no matter how many people are on the network, the speed is brutally slow. Their IT staff is in Houston, the company office is up in Edmonton, Alberta, opposite sides of North America. So, the IT staff does their work remotely. He mentioned that to date, they have not been able to improve the speed. I'm no network specialist but if an office has a T1 line and say just a half of dozen people are using the internet, shouldn't it be sizzling fast?

Of course I don't expect an easy answer considering there are probably many things to consider. That being said, if their IT staff hasn't been able to resolve this, what would you suggest looking at?

To start with, what information should I gather to help you better troubleshoot this?

As usual, many thanks for any help offered.
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
37,774
Question becomes where is the bottleneck. Do they do speed tests like at www.speedtest.net?

Have they spoken to their T1 provider? Its possible they are having connection issues outside of their network.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,946
Six people using a 1.5 Mbps T1 line would each be experiencing on average 250 Kbps service. Adequate for a lot of work use, but not exactly sizzling fast. What is the Speedtest.net results with only one user?
 

c0796

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 21, 2008
Messages
93
I ended up going to his office myself, Just connecting to the internet is painfully slow, as well as browsing. It looked like most people don't even use the internet much for their work so I would be surprised if more than 4 people were on at any given time.

The speedtest I ran had results of 1.14 Mb/s for download and I think the upload was around 0.5.

Considering how little demand they actually require/use, it shouldn't be that slow, especially connecting. Probably equal to or slower than the ol 56k!
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,946
If it were "regular" broadband I'd say to eliminate switches and routers and connect a computer directly to the modem. If that works OK then begin working outwards--connect to the first switch or router in the mix and test there, etc. Don't know if that applies to a T1 line.
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
37,774
My concern with this service is if it requires a static ip, and if so we would not be able to bypass anything because the IP address would be tied to the routers MAC and is controlled on the ISP side. If anything, like mentioned I would suggest having one computer connected to the router and the rest disconnected... unless the ISP addressing is dynamic (automatic) then bypass everything. Reboot the modem too first before checking speed test. If the speeds are 80% or lower than the speed it should be (ie less than 8MB on a 10MB connection) then the issue is on the ISP side.

One interesting note, I came across the same issue (slow network speed) and when troubleshooting, i found packet loss within the network (pinging hosts on the network) and ended up replacing the switch when seemed to have fixed the issue. Perhaps before doing the bypassing, try pinging hosts on the network and see if you have packet loss.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
3
Sounds Like a switch issue.
If traffic in the office is fine with no packet loss and a decent speed then the switch is probably fine.
If you have access to the switch then it could be the port going to the router got set down to something that it shouldn't be IE 10mbps or half duplex or some other setting issue.
 

c0796

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 21, 2008
Messages
93
Good info, thanks to all. Now, it's a matter of them moving forward and actually testing these things. My first concern is the person in charge not giving it enough priority. Meanwhile, the staff pulls their hair out with the slow speeds. You know how it is, you identify an issue but 'numbnuts' in charge takes his/her sweet time moving on it.

I will try and post an update if/when they act on it, thanks again to everyone, much appreciated. (y)
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
37,774
keep us updated! :) Tell the numbnuts that we are trying to help figure out the problem and if its on the ISP side then they owe some credit for bad service ;)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top