1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Not seeing home network, seeing others.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Donkeyotay, Jan 17, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Donkeyotay

    Donkeyotay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Afternoon All,

    For some reason my wife's Dell D630 running Windows 7 has stopped seeing and connecting to our home network. It can see various other networks in our locality, but not our home one. All other computers, radios & phones connect seamlessly, but this laptop.

    I've tried rebooting; turning the wireless off & on; manually entering the details and rebooting the router. All to no effect. Yet it's seeing other networks!

    If I plug in a network cable it connects to the home network properly, but it doesn't see it wirelessly.

    Any help gratefully received.
    Cordially yours
    Donkeyotay
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see an xirrus screen shot from your wifes PC
    this can be done with a cable connected

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) (For windows 8 see below) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot


    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/

    if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
    http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal

    For windows 8 - I dont have windows 8 and not tried - but this should work
    1)
    MSPaint is only available in classic desktop mode and can not use this program with the new Windows 8 start screen.
    You can find MSPaint by typing “mspaint”, which will search and allow you to install.
    MS "Fresh Paint program" is for Windows 8, download free from the Windows 8 store.

    2)
    >Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Lucky09

    Lucky09

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Hi,

    - First, make sure it is within range, which i assume it is.
    - Is the SSID (network name) hidden? The network might have been deleted and needed by be added manually. Do you happen to know the SSID (network name) and its security key?
     
  4. JazzySOUL

    JazzySOUL

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Sounds like your ssid is set to not broadcast itself and your laptop's wireless nic isnt set to connect when the ssid isnt broadcasted.
     
  5. Donkeyotay

    Donkeyotay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks for all the replies.

    I changed the router channel to 12 two days ago, not realising that Windows can't see beyond Channel 9 (all other computers here are Linux based). I've not reset to Channel 9 and everything is working again.

    Best wishes
    Donkeyotay
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    (y) thanks for letting us know

    glad you worked it out - that was one of the reason I wanted to see the xirrus screen shot - it will normally display all available channels 1-14

    windows can go between 1-14 and in US 1-11

    in the UK 1-13 is used and a lot of channels are using 1,6 and 11 as they do not overlap and so are often used

    heres the detail
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_WLAN_channels
    in US 1-11 is allowed
    in Japan 1-14
    rest of world 1-13 - UK

    if you want to post an xirrus from any machine - we can see if you have the best channel to avoid disconnects due to interference
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved seeing home
  1. AnesthesiaGuy
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    891
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1085648

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice