Solved: Not seeing home network, seeing others.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Donkeyotay

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
2
Afternoon All,

For some reason my wife's Dell D630 running Windows 7 has stopped seeing and connecting to our home network. It can see various other networks in our locality, but not our home one. All other computers, radios & phones connect seamlessly, but this laptop.

I've tried rebooting; turning the wireless off & on; manually entering the details and rebooting the router. All to no effect. Yet it's seeing other networks!

If I plug in a network cable it connects to the home network properly, but it doesn't see it wirelessly.

Any help gratefully received.
Cordially yours
Donkeyotay
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,468
can we see an xirrus screen shot from your wifes PC
this can be done with a cable connected

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
Download and install

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

{If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

Run the program

A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

post a screen shot of the program running.
if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

To post a screen shot of the active window.
1) (For windows 8 see below) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
OR
2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot


Note:
For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/

if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal

For windows 8 - I dont have windows 8 and not tried - but this should work
1)
MSPaint is only available in classic desktop mode and can not use this program with the new Windows 8 start screen.
You can find MSPaint by typing “mspaint”, which will search and allow you to install.
MS "Fresh Paint program" is for Windows 8, download free from the Windows 8 store.

2)
>Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
>Press the Esc. key.
>go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
>Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2013
Messages
137
Hi,

- First, make sure it is within range, which i assume it is.
- Is the SSID (network name) hidden? The network might have been deleted and needed by be added manually. Do you happen to know the SSID (network name) and its security key?
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2011
Messages
40
Sounds like your ssid is set to not broadcast itself and your laptop's wireless nic isnt set to connect when the ssid isnt broadcasted.
 

Donkeyotay

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
2
Thanks for all the replies.

I changed the router channel to 12 two days ago, not realising that Windows can't see beyond Channel 9 (all other computers here are Linux based). I've not reset to Channel 9 and everything is working again.

Best wishes
Donkeyotay
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,468
(y) thanks for letting us know

glad you worked it out - that was one of the reason I wanted to see the xirrus screen shot - it will normally display all available channels 1-14

not realising that Windows can't see beyond Channel 9 (all other computers here are Linux based).
windows can go between 1-14 and in US 1-11

in the UK 1-13 is used and a lot of channels are using 1,6 and 11 as they do not overlap and so are often used

heres the detail
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_WLAN_channels
in US 1-11 is allowed
in Japan 1-14
rest of world 1-13 - UK

if you want to post an xirrus from any machine - we can see if you have the best channel to avoid disconnects due to interference
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Members online

Top