1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Not sure if SLI is working or not.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Jonny330, Dec 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jonny330

    Jonny330 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Hi,

    I recently set up an SLI system consisting of two Nvidia GTS 250 1GB (one Galaxy and one PNY). My computer recognises that they're in SLI and everything seems to be in order.

    However I have not noticed much of an improvement in terms of performance, and when I run System Monitor in the background while playing Skyrim I notice that GPU 2 (the galaxy card) is at 100% and GPU 1 (the PNY card) generally hovers around 0% maybe jumping up to 5% some times (if that).

    I was just wondering, is this what's supposed to happen (I'm not used to SLI at all, this is the first time I've tried it) or has something gone wrong, if so, what has gone wrong and would there be a solution?

    Thanks,
    Jonny.
     
  2. Tristor

    Tristor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    There is an option in the nVidia Control Panel to enable a logo to be put into the corner when SLI is enabled. Note also that SLI (and Crossfire as well for the AMD/ATI folks) is only in effect for Fullscreen applications which use Direct3D Exclusive Mode. That means you should check your Skyrim settings to make sure it's in Fullscreen not Fullscreen Windowed.
     
  3. Jonny330

    Jonny330 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks, I've tried displaying SLI visual indicator, but nothing came up, and yes, I am in fullscreen mode.
     
  4. Tristor

    Tristor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    If nothing came up, SLI is not enabled or not working. From there I'd begin with the basics, troubleshooting physical connectivity, which slots the cards are in, whether you have your SLI bridge connected correctly, if the drivers are configured properly, etc. Use Furmark to test in fullscreen mode, it'll give you on the fly readings if you have GPU-Z installed.
     
  5. Jonny330

    Jonny330 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks for the tips, turns out I needed the latest beta driver from nvidia, they've only just made an sli profile for skyrim within the last week or so.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1029975

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice