1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] nvidia & ATI video card

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by GuyC, Apr 15, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. GuyC

    GuyC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    8
    Since I installed a new nvidia video card (3D Blaster 4 Titanium 4200) in replacement of an older ATI , I have problems with this [email protected]!?&@ blue screen ( IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL) after 15 minutes of normal use.
    Everthing works great in safe mode, but I want my new video card :)
    Is there a possibilty to remove some drivers to avoid a hard disk format ?-)
    I'm using windows 2000 with a Dual 710 MHz Pentium III and a memory of 256 MB.

    Thanks

    Guy.
     
  2. gotrootdude

    gotrootdude

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    8,812
    Nvidia cards must have a IRQ allocated to them in the bios, make sure this bios option is enabled or you will recieve errors such as the ones your experienceing.
     
  3. GuyC

    GuyC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    8
    Found in device manager : IRQ 16
    What now ?
     
  4. gotrootdude

    gotrootdude

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    8,812
    Is there a option that says "assign IRQ to VGA" ?
    Is this a PCI card or a AGP card?

    It may be a shared IRQ that's causeing trouble.
     
  5. Ash_11

    Ash_11

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    464
    Did you uninstall the ATI software before installing the NVidea?
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,854
    First Name:
    Rob
    710MHZ ? are you overclocking?

    Did you uninstall the ATI drivers/software first. What kind of motherboard, power supply do you have? You can try installing the latest NVIDIA drivers, sometimes that does the trick as does installing the latest chipset drivers for the mainboard.

    Do you have any tenmperature/voltage monitoring features in the BIOS, if so check these.
     
  8. gotrootdude

    gotrootdude

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    8,812
    Hmmm, never thought of that, it could be the power suppy isn't strong enough to support the new vid card.
     
  9. GuyC

    GuyC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    8
    Hello folks !

    I changed power supply (was on UPS System)

    Exact message is :
    ***STOP : 0x0000000A (0xE15AE468,0x00000002,
    0x00000000,0x804EA469) IRQL_NPT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

    I'm not overclocked

    ATI was completely uninstalled

    Greetings from Belgium !

    Guy.
     
  10. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Did you read thru the link I provided earlier?


    A Stop 0xA message might occur after installing a faulty device driver, system service, or firmware. If a Stop message lists a driver by name, disable, remove, or roll back the driver to correct the problem. If disabling or removing drivers resolves the issues, contact the manufacturer about a possible update. Using updated software is especially important for multimedia applications, antivirus scanners, and CD mastering tools.

    A Stop 0xA message might also be due to failing or defective hardware. If a Stop message points to a category of devices (video or disk adapters, for example), try removing or replacing the hardware to determine if it is causing the problem.
     
  11. GuyC

    GuyC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks to everybody !!
    It was a software problem : the nvidia drivers were too recent for the video card. I found the solution on the site www.creative.com

    And thanks to the webmaster.

    Guy.
     
  12. GHeuett

    GHeuett

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Hi Guy,

    With great excitement I found your thread via a Google search. I have been going through the same problem for 3 months. I loaded Win XP on my Dell Dimension 4100 after a total ME crash. This machine has an NVIDIA GeForce 2MX/MX 400 32 MB. Mine did the same deal - 15 minutes of inactivity and it would blue screen and reboot. Its driving me crazy. Neither Dell nor Microsoft have been able to figure it.

    Based on your progress, I went to the Dell website and loaded their drivers which are earlier than the drivers loaded under XP. Still having the problem. I went to the Creative web site but did not see a solution. Appreciate further info as to what you loaded. The driver I downloaded is version 2.1.8.3 dated 9/14/2001. It replaced one dated 5/3/2002 version 2.9.4.2.

    Thanks for your bleeding edge assistance!!

    Gib Heuett
     
  13. ChuckG

    ChuckG

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    281
    GHeuett- May I suggest that you start a new thread describing your problem. You'll get much better response.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/128905

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice