1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Nvidia nForce network adapter not connecting to modem-router at boot

Discussion in 'Networking' started by tetraz, Sep 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tetraz

    tetraz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Hi all,

    I have a notebook Compaq CQ60-302SL (Vista Home Basic SP2) connected by cable with a Modem-router TRUST 14954-02. The network adapter on the PC is a Nvidia Nforce 10/100/1000. The PC has also a wireless network adapter, but I don't use it and it is not enabled.

    Starting one week ago, my Nvidia nforce network adapter is not connecting to the router after PC boot (the RJ45 connector on the PC shows a steady green light and no flashing yellow light; the yellow light instead is flashing when I succeed to connect).

    I have to uninstall the driver from Control Panel and reinstall (often two or three times) before it will get connected. I have also tried to unistall the driver from "Installed Applications", reboot the machine and let Windows find the network adapter in order to install the driver, and sometimes the PC get connected. At the next boot, no connection again.

    When it is not connected, I have a red X on the network icon, but in Network configuration the status is "Enabled". The card recognizes that the network cable is inserted (there is "cable disconnected" when I actually disconnect the cable from the PC, and when I reconnect the cable the status is "enabled" but again with the red X on the network icon); the notebook thus can not communicate with the modem-router (i can not connect via IE to my router at 192.168.1.1 - no page found error.).

    The ipconfig /all does not show the Nvidia adapter when I have the problem (so the part of the below log starting with "Scheda Ethernet Connessione alla rete locale (LAN):" and finishing with "NetBIOS su TCP/IP . . . . . . . . . . : Attivato" is not present).
    Now, after two remove-and-reinstall-driver I have succeeded to connect, and the Ipconfig /all log is reported at the end of the message.

    Thank you for any help: this problem is getting really annoying; moreover, I would not like to bring the PC to the assistance since I need it for work.

    Thank you again,
    Andrea "tetraz"


    ipconfig /all (in italian - if requested I can translate)


    Configurazione IP di Windows

    Nome host . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Presario-CQ60
    Suffisso DNS primario . . . . . . . . :
    Tipo nodo . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Ibrido
    Routing IP abilitato. . . . . . . . . : No
    Proxy WINS abilitato . . . . . . . . : No

    Scheda Ethernet Connessione alla rete locale (LAN):

    Suffisso DNS specifico per connessione:
    Descrizione . . . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce 10/100/1000 Mbps Networking Controller
    Indirizzo fisico. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-16-D6-6E-8B
    DHCP abilitato. . . . . . . . . . . . : Sì
    Configurazione automatica abilitata : Sì
    Indirizzo IPv6 locale rispetto al collegamento . : fe80::749a:5832:3faa:2e22%
    17(Preferenziale)
    Indirizzo IPv4. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferenziale)
    Subnet mask . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease ottenuto. . . . . . . . . . . . : mercoledì 22 settembre 2010 23.59.51
    Scadenza lease . . . . . . . . . . . : giovedì 23 settembre 2010 23.59.51
    Gateway predefinito . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    Server DHCP . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    IAID DHCPv6 . . . . . . . . . . . : 285220630
    DUID Client DHCPv6. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-BE-71-44-00-24-2C-65-5F-27

    Server DNS . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 208.67.222.222
    208.67.220.220
    NetBIOS su TCP/IP . . . . . . . . . . : Attivato

    Scheda LAN wireless Connessione rete wireless:

    Stato supporto. . . . . . . . . . . . : Supporto disconnesso
    Suffisso DNS specifico per connessione:
    Descrizione . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter

    Indirizzo fisico. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-24-2C-65-5F-27
    DHCP abilitato. . . . . . . . . . . . : Sì
    Configurazione automatica abilitata : Sì

    Scheda Tunnel Connessione alla rete locale (LAN)*:

    Stato supporto. . . . . . . . . . . . : Supporto disconnesso
    Suffisso DNS specifico per connessione:
    Descrizione . . . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{7863CD48-2F43-4941-8053-71724
    4D50489}
    Indirizzo fisico. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP abilitato. . . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Configurazione automatica abilitata : Sì

    Scheda Tunnel Connessione alla rete locale (LAN)* 3:

    Stato supporto. . . . . . . . . . . . : Supporto disconnesso
    Suffisso DNS specifico per connessione:
    Descrizione . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Indirizzo fisico. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP abilitato. . . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Configurazione automatica abilitata : Sì

    Scheda Tunnel Connessione alla rete locale (LAN)* 6:

    Stato supporto. . . . . . . . . . . . : Supporto disconnesso
    Suffisso DNS specifico per connessione:
    Descrizione . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Indirizzo fisico. . . . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP abilitato. . . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Configurazione automatica abilitata : Sì

    Scheda Tunnel Connessione alla rete locale (LAN)* 7:

    Stato supporto. . . . . . . . . . . . : Supporto disconnesso
    Suffisso DNS specifico per connessione:
    Descrizione . . . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{65C2CE78-D23D-472F-AA67-FA0B7
    35AAC93}
    Indirizzo fisico. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP abilitato. . . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Configurazione automatica abilitata : Sì
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    That looks normal, we need to see it when it fails.
     
  3. tetraz

    tetraz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Hi JohnWill,

    thank you for answering.
    This is the ipconfig /all when I am unable to connect (as 5 minutes ago: on boot I can't connect, then uninstall-reinstall and here I am).
    Just for info: with Ubuntu the network adapter is ok, I can connect...so in my opinion is a software problem.
    Another info: driver version is 67.7.6.1 released on Feb 19, 2008.

    Thank you very much for any help!

    Andrea "tetraz"



    Configurazione IP di Windows

    Nome host . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Presario-CQ60
    Suffisso DNS primario . . . . . . . . :
    Tipo nodo . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Ibrido
    Routing IP abilitato. . . . . . . . . : No
    Proxy WINS abilitato . . . . . . . . : No

    Scheda LAN wireless Connessione rete wireless:

    Stato supporto. . . . . . . . . . . . : Supporto disconnesso
    Suffisso DNS specifico per connessione:
    Descrizione . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter

    Indirizzo fisico. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-24-2C-65-5F-27
    DHCP abilitato. . . . . . . . . . . . : Sì
    Configurazione automatica abilitata : Sì

    Scheda Tunnel Connessione alla rete locale (LAN)*:

    Stato supporto. . . . . . . . . . . . : Supporto disconnesso
    Suffisso DNS specifico per connessione:
    Descrizione . . . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{7863CD48-2F43-4941-8053-71724
    4D50489}
    Indirizzo fisico. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP abilitato. . . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Configurazione automatica abilitata : Sì

    Scheda Tunnel Connessione alla rete locale (LAN)* 3:

    Stato supporto. . . . . . . . . . . . : Supporto disconnesso
    Suffisso DNS specifico per connessione:
    Descrizione . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Indirizzo fisico. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP abilitato. . . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Configurazione automatica abilitata : Sì

    Scheda Tunnel Connessione alla rete locale (LAN)* 6:

    Stato supporto. . . . . . . . . . . . : Supporto disconnesso
    Suffisso DNS specifico per connessione:
    Descrizione . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Indirizzo fisico. . . . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP abilitato. . . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Configurazione automatica abilitata : Sì

    Scheda Tunnel Connessione alla rete locale (LAN)* 7:

    Stato supporto. . . . . . . . . . . . : Supporto disconnesso
    Suffisso DNS specifico per connessione:
    Descrizione . . . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{65C2CE78-D23D-472F-AA67-FA0B7
    35AAC93}
    Indirizzo fisico. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP abilitato. . . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Configurazione automatica abilitata : Sì
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    It appears your wired network adapter disappears from the configuration. That indicates it may be a hardware issue. Do you still see it in Device Manager when you have the failure?


    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

    Please respond to all the following steps.

    1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
    2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
    3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?

    It would be best if you could post a screen shot of Device Manager with the Network adapters and Other devices sections expanded.

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
     
  5. tetraz

    tetraz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Hi JohnWill,

    yes, I see the wired network adapter during the failure; I have always the same configuration both in working and in not-working conditions.
    Anyway, here the answers:

    Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter
    NVIDIA nForce 10/100/1000 Mbps Networking Controller

    No

    No

    Attached to the post.
    Thank you very very much!

    Andrea "tetraz"
     

    Attached Files:

  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, the fact that it comes and goes in the IPCONFIG seems to suggest a hardware issue. Have you tried a new cable and a different port on the router?
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,994
    First Name:
    Terry
    Certainly agree that a hardware cause seems most likely. But since you do not have the issue with Ubuntu I'll offer the following.

    Make sure you have the latest ethernet controller driver from HP's web site.

    Consider any non-Windows firewall or security suite as a suspect (but I have no idea how that could make the adapter disappear from the ipconfig).

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  8. tetraz

    tetraz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Hi TerryNet,

    I have followed your suggestions. After two or three successfully reboots (the connection was ok), I had no connection and I was forced to uninstall and reinstall the driver from Control Panel.
    I have rechecked with Ubuntu and the connection was ok.
    I am seriously thinking to switch to Linux or to install Windows 7...
    Any hint?

    Thank you very much for your help!

    Andrea "tetraz"
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,994
    First Name:
    Terry
    "no connection" is not sufficiently detailed.

    We know that the ethernet LED always lights, that the ethernet always shows as OK in Device Manager, and that it is or is not in the ipconfig depending on whether it is working or not working, right? What about in Network Connections? Is the ethernet connection there as OK and enabled when the connection is missing from the ipconfig?
     
  10. tetraz

    tetraz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Dear TerryNet,

    I am sorry for not being detailed.

    When the connection is missing from ipconfig, I have the following situation:
    1. Red "X" on the network icon in the taskbar
    2. In "Network Connection" I have: not connected - no connection to any network
    3. In "Manage Network Connections" I have: Connection to local network (LAN): Enabled; if I disconnect the network cable, i have: Cable disconnected.

    Sorry again and thank you,

    Andrea "tetraz"
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    If it's not hardware, it's something odd about the Windows driver I would imagine...
     
  12. tetraz

    tetraz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    The problem is that I was not able to find the latest driver on Nvidia website or on Compaq website.
    When I try "update driver" from Control Panel - right click on Nvidia Network Adapter , the result is that I have already installed the latest driver.
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,994
    First Name:
    Terry
    Ahhhh. Then it's probably included in the Chipset. Install that from HP's web site.
     
  14. preme

    preme

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    with that chipset i believe microsoft updates will put a driver that will screw that card up and if u try and roll it back it will say there is no back up. We had a big problem with this in the centre i work in.

    reinstall the driver from your disk and it should be fine
     
  15. tetraz

    tetraz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Preme,
    my chipset is Nvidia MCP77MV. The latest driver version, indicated on HP website, is 17.07 A, 23.03M, issued on 2008-07-20.

    Is that driver you referring to?

    Thank you very much!
    Andrea "tetraz"
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/951815

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice