1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: nvidia not loading

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by mickthefin, Apr 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mickthefin

    mickthefin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Hi I hope some one can help. I downloaded a
    nvidia
    update through windows updates, as it finished installing, pop, the screen closed in by 40%, when I reboot or start up I now get an error message unable to load nvidia display driver.
    I have downloaded and installed the driver from the nvidia website Windows/197.45/197.45 but it makes no difference

    I have an HP Pavilion Elite windows 7 premium, upgrade from Vista.

    I have also tried to repair from recovery manager but that tells me to install the recovery disc, if I were to do this would it wipe the disc clean, and would it recover the nvidia drivers.
     
  2. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Does the windows boot up normally afterwards?
     
  3. unbidden

    unbidden

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,469
    I suggest you never use Windows Update to install drivers. Win Update can at times mis-read the hardware installed, particularly when you have a proprietary hardware component installed such as a video card made for Dell, HP or a 3rd party company that is using the nVidia chipset, Windows Update wants to install the latest nVidia drivers. IOW's, stick to the manufacturer website for drivers.
     
  4. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    What is the model no. of the graphic card?
     
  5. mickthefin

    mickthefin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Hi, I think it is NVIDIA Geforce GT220
     
  6. mickthefin

    mickthefin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Yes it boots OK, everything works, except the screen monitor has closed in 3" both sides, and the resolution dosn't work quite well. But I always get that message unable to load nvidia display driver ever time I boot up.
     
  7. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    OK ,the situation is very better than i thought!
    Uninstall ALL OF THE NVIDIA DISPLAY DRIVERS AND CONSIDER REINSTALLING THEM from the Manufactuer's site.
     
  8. mickthefin

    mickthefin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Is that install from nvidia or HP.
     
  9. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    From HP.
    Got a busy schedule late tonight.
    Bye And Good Night (its around 8:00 PM Here)
     
  10. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,543
  11. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Sorry to interrupt replay,
    but its a built from HP and so HP could have made some changes to the graphic driver.
    The windows update driver finds the graphic driver from the NVIDIA's site and these drivers have caused the problem.
    So,
    He should download the drivers from HP's Site
    Its just a recommendation from my side
     
  12. mickthefin

    mickthefin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Hi, I did try HP and they do not have any drivers available.
     
  13. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Please post the exact model no of your PC.
    We can then help you out.
    BTW,do you have an recovery CD?(the cd that came with the PC)
    If any drivers are available for vista,try installing them
    Most of them work on windows 7
     
  14. mickthefin

    mickthefin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Hi, it's HP Pavilion Elite m9753uk, it came loaded with Vista premium it did not come with any discs, I upgraded through hp, to the windows 7 that did come with a disc.
     
  15. mickthefin

    mickthefin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Hello antech, It's quite amazing an hour after I got your last email, I had an email from hp to say they had an update for the problem, I have downloaded and installed the update and everything is back as it was originally.
    I would like to thank you for your time and your willingness to help, it's great to know there are people like you whom you can turn to for help,
    So once again thank you for your time.

    mickthefin
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved nvidia loading
  1. ozegirl
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    2,924
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/918271

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice