1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Old computer and Windows Xp

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by fox790, Oct 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fox790

    fox790 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    I would like to know if it's possible to have a decent experience on windows xp with a so limited computer like mine and if so what can I change or improve to make this computer run less slowly.

    Here's my computer specs:

    IBM Personal Computer 300GL
    Type: 6563-A2F

    Pentium III 728Mhz, 128Ram, HD 20GB
    Video Card: Savage 4 16MB

    Windows Xp SP3 Fresh install since today
    Non-ACPI compatible computer
    Forced HAL installation in Standard PC Mode


    Thank's in advance for your answers
     
  2. Gnomad

    Gnomad

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    752
    It really depends on what you are going to use the PC for. If you are mainly using it for Internet and Email you should have a decent enough experience if you max out the memory. That model of IBM can hold a maximum of 1 gb consisting of two 512 mb modules.
     
  3. TTek

    TTek

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Ive actually ran Windows XP on a 400MZ computer that had an ATI 7500 graphics card in it. One thing I had to do was install 512mb of ram as this should be a minimum for XP and any software you intend to run. A graphics card would be good if you intend to view video and or play a few older games. For your system they can be found pretty cheap.
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,820
    First Name:
    Frank
    Fox790:

    You can have a decent experience with Windows XP in a computer with an Intel Pentium III 728 MHz processor, as long as you:

    Increase the RAM amount to at least 512 MB.

    Use it for basic computing and not for anything graphic-extensive or video-extensive.

    Minimize the number of programs running in the background.

    Reduce the amount of visual effects("eye candy").

    ----------------------------------------------------------------

    If you can get your hands on an old ATI Radeon 7000 or 7500 or a NVIDIA Riva TNT2 M64(or another old popular model) video card with 32 or 64 or 128 MB of video memory, it'll give the overall graphics experience a boost.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. fox790

    fox790 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Thank you all for your posts it's helping me alot.

    As I understand the first thing I should do is increase my RAM, that's what I thought.

    Flavalee:

    Most of the visual effects are deactivated and in the background it's system process for the most part.

    I wonder if it's normal for this computer to be so slow even with only 128MB of RAM I don't know if it should be more functional because I deactivated most of the features that could make a difference but obviously it wasn't a success and the event viewer is clear of any errors. Maybe it's a hardware problem, do you know softwares that I can use to test the hardware accurately?
     
  6. bbearren

    bbearren

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,775
    Even new hardware would run extremely slow with 128 MB of RAM. You'll notice a big difference if you max out the RAM.
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,820
    First Name:
    Frank
    No matter how much you tweak that computer for maximum performance, it's going to run like a snail with only 128 MB of RAM.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. fox790

    fox790 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    ok, thank you very much I'll buy more RAM.

    Do you know what kind of RAM should I take and wich one could be cheaper.
     
  9. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
  10. fox790

    fox790 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks for the link DoubleHelix it's really appreciated.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved computer Windows
  1. Marcella253
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    213
  2. 8biosdrive
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    552
  3. Tip1721
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    532
  4. osephj
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    730
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/758418

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice