1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: old dell laptop cannot connect to wireless network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by plockblock, Jan 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. plockblock

plockblock Thread Starter

I am not tech savvy but i'll try to explain my problem . I was given a dell latitude cpx laptop running windows xp recently with wireless b network adapter. My modem/router is a 2wire gateway DSL . When I brought the laptop home, it did not connect to my wireless network. It was able to find my ssid though, and the signal was weak even if I was close to the modem/router. Anway, someone suggested I switch from WPA to WEP encryption because old network adapters can only detect wep encryption ( or something like that) . So I did, and still no internet connection. i tried to ping yahoo.com and still not working. My DNS and Ip adress are set to automatic and still no internet. This laptop doesn't have an LAN port, so i guess it connects through internet wirelessly only. Someone also suggested i update my drivers for wireless adapter but i don't have the original disc that came along with it. This laptop was able to connect without problem before from a different network but not mine like a week ago.. I also have2 other laptops within this network and I never had a problem with it connecting wirelessly.

ALSo i am using another laptop to make this post, not the dell latitude

2. prunejuice

prunejuice

The Dell's wireless adapter is probably Wireless "B" which most likely does not support WPA/WPA2.

I would buy a Wireless "G" USB adapter, they're fairly inexpensive.

3. jailhousews

jailhousews