Solved: Old password required

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

johnni

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 16, 2003
Messages
786
I just got myself into this fix on my recent 'old' XP Pro PC. I have another thread running regarding my "silent" computer which Etaf is kindly helping with but for now everything is at a stop, because in the meantime I thought I would use System Restore to go back about a month before I obtained the computer in case the sounds could be enabled that way; the restore went OK but now, on starting, it is asking me to enter a password, which is not the same as the one which was in use when I obtained it (and had since disabled). I had hoped to use Safe mode to get into Restore in order to undo my restore but even in safe mode I am asked for this unknown password.

So now I am completely locked out unless anyone has an answer.

johnni
 

johnni

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 16, 2003
Messages
786
Thanks. No, it's not the BIOS password (which is disabled), but your link seemed too terrifying for me to use!
I'm going to have to try and find someone who used to have the PC and ask for their old password (if possible).

johnni
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Actually, that utility works very well and is simple. To reset the admin password, you just accept all the defaults and write the results.
 

johnni

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 16, 2003
Messages
786
No, I was given the PC without any disks at all. If my efforts to find the correct password fail I may try Augie65's suggestion as by then I will have nothing to lose. And I only wanted to undo my System Restore!

johnni
 

johnni

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 16, 2003
Messages
786
Squashman - I assume you mean the link posted by Augie65? As I said I have no other disks.

johnni
 

Squashman

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 4, 2003
Messages
19,786
johnni said:
Squashman - I assume you mean the link posted by Augie65? As I said I have no other disks.

johnni
Your only shot at fixing this issue is to use the Password Reset disk. Floppy's and Cd-r's are cheap.
 

johnni

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 16, 2003
Messages
786
I finally obtained that password and undid my System Restore.

johnni
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top