1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Old printer, new router prob with IP address...

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ed1955, Jan 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ed1955

    ed1955 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I got a new wireless router, and the wireless connections to my notebook (windows 7) and my Wii went fine. I connect the priter wired, not wireless. My printer is a HP photosmart C6200. The router is a Netgear N300. I know it is has to do with the IP address. When I check the IP address on the printer, it isn't set. I know I can set it manually, but don't know what to set it to. (It was set when connected to my old router, not sure how I messed that up.)
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    would you post an ipconfig /all from any of the working PCs when connected to the router


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
    -> Start
    -> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all
    -> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all

    A black box will appear on the screen -
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy

    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. ed1955

    ed1955 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks for the help. Here it is.



    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Ed-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-2D-71-5F-A6
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5B93 Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 70-1A-04-A7-1D-76
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::fd79:d7c8:96cc:2ca0%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, January 08, 2011 3:41:42 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 10, 2011 1:53:40 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 191896068
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-C4-00-0D-70-1A-04-A7-1D-76
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{1DD06D2A-0124-4BBF-BFC5-43C5F7871756}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:3480:136f:3f57:fefc(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3480:136f:3f57:fefc%15(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{EE8746D9-414A-46B2-A738-600FA45E08B2}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    C:\Users\Ed>
    C:\Users\Ed>
    C:\Users\Ed>
    C:\Users\Ed>
    C:\Users\Ed>
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    If you want to set the printer up manually for an IP - i would suggest the following
    set the printer up to use
    an IPADDRESS of 192.168.1.200
    subnet mask of 255.255.255.0
    Default gateway of 192.168.1.1
    DNS gateway of 192.168.1.1

    otherwise you could try to set DHCP
     
  5. ed1955

    ed1955 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    When I set the IP manually, the format is 000.000.000.000
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    yes so
    an IPADDRESS of 192.168.001.200
    subnet mask of 255.255.255.000
    Default gateway of 192.168.001.001
    DNS gateway of 192.168.001.001
     
  7. ed1955

    ed1955 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    OK, I got the ip etc. entered manually. I backed out to the main menu, went back in and the ip is just as I set it. Still not connected, so I powered off, and back on. All the manual settings are back to 000.

    It was working great on the old router, so I don't believe it's the printer -- I have to be doing it but....

    This is driving me crazy. Any more ideas?
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,256
    First Name:
    Terry
    Can you successfully connect a computer to the router via ethernet?
     
  9. michelsmith

    michelsmith

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    When you first install a network printer or print server on your local area network, you need to set the IP address. Higher end workgroup printers allow you to set the IP address through the printer control panel. If you have many printers you will have to assign the addresses remotely, this makes administration a bit easier and avoids assigning duplicate addresses accidentally.
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    when you enter the IP manually is there an option to save - you should be returned to your old settings when powered off

    what are the ip address you actually have ?

    do you still have the cd - you could reset up again using the CD
     
  11. ed1955

    ed1955 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I can connect the computer with a cable, but it is working fine wireless.
     
  12. ed1955

    ed1955 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    There is no option to save the settings on the printer itself. I can back out one step on the menu and thay are fine, all the way out and they vanish.

    I have the router cd. I'll try going through that again. Hope that doesn't kill the thinks that work now.
     
  13. ed1955

    ed1955 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks to all -- finally got this sorted. I had to uninstall and reinstall all the software, but it is working now.
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    your welcome (y) thanks for letting us know
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/973650

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice