Solved: Old printer, new router prob with IP address...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ed1955

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
7
I got a new wireless router, and the wireless connections to my notebook (windows 7) and my Wii went fine. I connect the priter wired, not wireless. My printer is a HP photosmart C6200. The router is a Netgear N300. I know it is has to do with the IP address. When I check the IP address on the printer, it isn't set. I know I can set it manually, but don't know what to set it to. (It was set when connected to my old router, not sure how I messed that up.)
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,457
would you post an ipconfig /all from any of the working PCs when connected to the router


------------------------------------------------------------------------
{ipconfig /all}
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
-> Start
-> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
cmd /k ipconfig /all
-> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
cmd /k ipconfig /all

A black box will appear on the screen -
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy

then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

ed1955

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
7
Thanks for the help. Here it is.



Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Ed-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-2D-71-5F-A6
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5B93 Wireless Network Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 70-1A-04-A7-1D-76
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::fd79:d7c8:96cc:2ca0%11(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, January 08, 2011 3:41:42 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 10, 2011 1:53:40 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 191896068
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-C4-00-0D-70-1A-04-A7-1D-76
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Tunnel adapter isatap.{1DD06D2A-0124-4BBF-BFC5-43C5F7871756}:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:3480:136f:3f57:fefc(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3480:136f:3f57:fefc%15(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
Tunnel adapter isatap.{EE8746D9-414A-46B2-A738-600FA45E08B2}:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
C:\Users\Ed>
C:\Users\Ed>
C:\Users\Ed>
C:\Users\Ed>
C:\Users\Ed>
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,457
If you want to set the printer up manually for an IP - i would suggest the following
set the printer up to use
an IPADDRESS of 192.168.1.200
subnet mask of 255.255.255.0
Default gateway of 192.168.1.1
DNS gateway of 192.168.1.1

otherwise you could try to set DHCP
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,457
yes so
an IPADDRESS of 192.168.001.200
subnet mask of 255.255.255.000
Default gateway of 192.168.001.001
DNS gateway of 192.168.001.001
 

ed1955

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
7
OK, I got the ip etc. entered manually. I backed out to the main menu, went back in and the ip is just as I set it. Still not connected, so I powered off, and back on. All the manual settings are back to 000.

It was working great on the old router, so I don't believe it's the printer -- I have to be doing it but....

This is driving me crazy. Any more ideas?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,961
Can you successfully connect a computer to the router via ethernet?
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
5
When you first install a network printer or print server on your local area network, you need to set the IP address. Higher end workgroup printers allow you to set the IP address through the printer control panel. If you have many printers you will have to assign the addresses remotely, this makes administration a bit easier and avoids assigning duplicate addresses accidentally.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,457
when you enter the IP manually is there an option to save - you should be returned to your old settings when powered off

what are the ip address you actually have ?

do you still have the cd - you could reset up again using the CD
 

ed1955

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
7
I can connect the computer with a cable, but it is working fine wireless.
 

ed1955

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
7
There is no option to save the settings on the printer itself. I can back out one step on the menu and thay are fine, all the way out and they vanish.

I have the router cd. I'll try going through that again. Hope that doesn't kill the thinks that work now.
 

ed1955

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
7
Thanks to all -- finally got this sorted. I had to uninstall and reinstall all the software, but it is working now.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top