1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: On - Board sound

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by BoundXx, Apr 13, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BoundXx

    BoundXx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Recently my sound has stopped working. I have the monitor connected through VGA to my video card and audio jack to the motherboard. I have a second monitor that is connected through HDMI to my video card which sounds does play though.

    I think it happened when I started messing with audio drivers when I was trying to get my headset working, I may have un-installed the wrong driver or changed something then both the front and back audio jack would not work.

    I have installed the audio divers from the motherboard manufacturers.

    I have attached several screenshots from the sound panel device manager and the manufacturer’s website.

    Any help would be much appreciated thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Sorry, what's the question?

    Do you want to switch the audio to your speakers instead of the TV? If so in your Sounds, the third screen shot you posted, you just need to right click on the "Speakers" and click "Set as Default Device", currently the TV is set to the default as you can see from the green check mark.
     
  3. BoundXx

    BoundXx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Sorry I was unclear, yes I would like the device named Speakers (which is my main monitor) to play audio.

    I have tried setting the "Speakers" to the default device and have tested them but no audio is played even though the green volume bars appear as seen the the attached screen shot. The monitors volume is on max as well.
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Try plugging in regular headphones or regular speakers in the green jack on the back of the computer and see if they play anything.
     
  5. BoundXx

    BoundXx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Nothing tried both the front and back jacks.
     
  6. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,982
    First Name:
    Allan
    Try enabling the SPDIF device in the last screenshot.
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
  8. BoundXx

    BoundXx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    47
  9. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
  10. BoundXx

    BoundXx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    47
  11. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    If you disconnect the monitor that's connected with HDMI and reboot the computer does the sound come back?
     
  12. BoundXx

    BoundXx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Sorry I haven't been on in a while. Disconnected the HDMI monitor then rebooted but still no sound.
     
  13. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Where do you have the green mark in Sound now?
     
  14. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,882
    Have you tried a simple restore to a date prior to your messing with the drivers?

    Since your original post was 6 weeks ago, that may or may not be an option at this point.
     
  15. BoundXx

    BoundXx Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Still on "Speakers", I've tested all the others but no sounds.

    I don't have any backup points to restore to. I know it's a bad idea to not have them and I'm paying the consequences haha.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1146534

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice