Solved: one of my program shortcut wont pin to taskbar and start menu

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

andsim2

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 22, 2007
Messages
19
hi techy,


i am having some sort of problem is shortcut to pin taskbar and/or start menu. i am on windows 7 ultimate x64
i have tries to unistall the program and reinstall still no pin eiither way,
can u help
ty
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
17,212
What program will NOT pin to the taskbar and start menu?

If you have a link to information about this program it may help?
 

andsim2

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 22, 2007
Messages
19
program called AnSky, i have design the setup to tell to pin on taskbar and start menu, but some odd rason wont do it. it was created for virtual world
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
17,212
It is really a online game and is a "Link" to it on the internet?

I am not sure that you can add "internet links" to the taskbar and start menu.
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
17,212
Give us a link to this program, as all I find in on line poker games?

I also find AnSky Grid, but it is also a online virtual game.
AnSky Grid is a FREE online 3D virtual world community, where you can interact with friends from all over the world!!
We offer the backdrop to your virtual life. From Role Playing to Virtual Business. Have your own beachfront home, or your own skyscraper office building. Build it yourself, or hire residents to help you.

Start on your fun filled virtual journey, by clicking on the Next Step link below.
 

andsim2

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 22, 2007
Messages
19
Give us a link to this program, as all I find in on line poker games?

I also find AnSky Grid, but it is also a online virtual game.
AnSky Grid is own by me
i run the setup tro test on my computer some how my system wont let it pin the program to taskbar and start menu under win 7 i used to be able to
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
17,212
If want any more help from you you will need to provide a link to the website that you downloaded this setup file.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
9,028
Your filename contains a reserved file name (setup). It can't be pinned to the Taskbar. You can pin it to the Start Menu, but you have to use Shift+Right click to see the option.

The following file names can't be pinned to the taskbar:

  • Applaunch.exe
  • Control.exe
  • Dfsvc.exe
  • Dllhost.exe
  • Guestmodemsg.exe
  • Hh.exe
  • Install.exe
  • Isuninst.exe
  • Lnkstub.exe
  • Mmc.exe
  • Mshta.exe
  • Msiexec.exe
  • Msoobe.exe
  • Rundll32.exe
  • Setup.exe
  • St5unst.exe
  • Unwise.exe
  • Unwise32.exe
  • Werfault.exe
  • Winhlp32.exe
  • Wlrmdr.exe
  • Wuapp.exe
Any filename that contains one of the following words also cannot be pinned to the taskbar:
  • Documentation
  • Help
  • Install
  • More Info
  • Read me
  • Read First
  • Readme
  • Remove
  • Setup
  • Support
  • What's New
See this article for info:
Exclusion Lists for Taskbar Pinning and Recent/Frequent Lists
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
17,212
Once this setup is run, it is just a required viewer to be used within you browser.
It is just a add in to the browser there fore not really a local program.
 

andsim2

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 22, 2007
Messages
19
Once this setup is run, it is just a required viewer to be used within you browser.
It is just a add in to the browser there fore not really a local program.
it not just browser it is 3d virtual world
however, i am trying to pin AnSky.exe to taskbar

i did use shift-right on i my program all i got is to pin is start menu not to taskbar
i used to be able do it with ansky.exe
 

andsim2

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 22, 2007
Messages
19
geesh... i solve it by going to regedit in hkey_classes_root/applications/AnSky i delete it from there and try pining AnSky to taskbar and it work
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
9,028
Yes, if registered as a host app, you can't pin it.

This puts it in the Host Process List:
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Applications\ansky.exe]
"IsHostApp"=""
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top