Solved: one way file sharing

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

MrMundial

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
5
About 10 weeks ago I returned from a trip and started having a problem with the laptop that I took with me on the trip. When I connected to my home network, I could connect with the laptop to all my other computers using drive mapping. However none of my other computers could connect to it. Before my trip, my other computes could connect to it, with no problems.

The laptop is running Windows 7 Ultimate. I checked all the usual suspects such as the firewall and making sure discovery and file-sharing were enabled. I am using Norton Security Suite and used the menu command to disable the firewall. I checked networking advanced options and made sure the file and printer sharing service was enabled for the adapter. Everything looked OK.

I discovered I was not able to ping the laptop. Ping worked fine from my laptop to the other computers.

I tried installing Wireshark on the laptop. The ping packet was arriving, but the laptop was not responding. As a result, I tried resetting TCP/IP using the "netsh int tcp reset" command. To my delight the problem went away for about 4 hours. Then it came back. Now resetting TCP/IP does not help at all.

BTW, my laptop shows up when I try from another computer to see the computers on my network. I can connect to the laptop with Remote Desktop. It backs itself up each night correctly with my Home Server. But I have not been able to figure out why I cannot ping it or map drives to it.

I got a new laptop two days ago. It is running Windows 7 Home Premium. Until this afternoon I could ping it and map to it from other computers. Now I am having the same problem as with the other laptop.

This leads to the questions "what is breaking my Windows 7 laptops?" and "How can I fix them?". As one of laptops is new and doesn't have a lot of stuff on it, if I can get it working again, I can probably track down the cause.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am attaching an ipconfig /all listings from the new laptop that does not work.

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Adonis
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.ma.comcast.net.

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ma.comcast.net.
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : DC-0E-A1-33-2A-51
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::40a1:1424:108:5a96%12(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.124(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, December 09, 2011 6:26:11 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, December 10, 2011 6:26:11 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 349965985
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-4E-9B-2B-74-DE-2B-CA-80-1D
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.71.230
68.87.73.246
192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ma.comcast.net.
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8188CE Wireless LAN 802.11n PCI-E NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 74-DE-2B-CA-80-1D
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::fd9c:13a0:7d1b:8a4b%11(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.123(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, December 09, 2011 6:26:21 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, December 10, 2011 8:32:59 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 242540075
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-4E-9B-2B-74-DE-2B-CA-80-1D
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.71.230
68.87.73.246
192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:93:29b0:3f57:fe83(Preferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::93:29b0:3f57:fe83%14(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.hsd1.ma.comcast.net.:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ma.comcast.net.
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,423
Uninstall Norton and run Symantec's Removal Tool. You can reinstall it after testing.

Which security suite is running on the new PC?
 

MrMundial

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
5
I did not expect this to work because I have Norton Security Suite installed on all my computers (ComCast provides it to me with my subscription) including another Windows 7 Ultimate machine that does not have this problem. The new computer was also using Norton Security Suite.
I tried your suggestion anyway. To my surprise, it worked! MANY THANKS! You would not believe how many hours I struggled with this.
The one thing that is different between my laptops and the computer that does not have the problem is my laptops are sometimes connected to external networks while my desktop is always on my home network.
I can always contact Symantec about this, but would you have any idea offhand what settings I need to set in the Norton firewall to avoid problem in the future? Thanks.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,423
would you have any idea offhand what settings I need to set in the Norton firewall to avoid problem in the future?
I'd just keep the Removal Tool handy. :) But, you're right, there should be settings that work better.

You're welcome.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top