Solved: Online, but browsers don't work

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

lowcloud

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
9
I am running several computers on a wireless network. All of them connect just fine, except one. On that one, no users (including me, admin acct.) can get MSIE or Firefox to display websites. It's connected to the internet, but browsers won't go to any websites and MSIE can't identify the problem for me.

I don't even know what to check next. Help, please?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,649
You definitely know that you have internet access? Do you know if DNS is working?

Could be a non-Windows firewall or security suite issue.
 

lowcloud

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
9
Well, the signal quality is "excellent" and the number of bytes sent and received keeps going up.

nslookup says default server: Unknown

This happens with Zone Alarm installed but disabled, AVG installed but disabled, and Net Nanny installed but disabled.
 

lowcloud

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
9
I am about to go use AVG remover, but haven't been able to get to Zone Alarm Removal Tool -- keeps saying "file not found".
 

lowcloud

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
9
Ok, both are now removed, and it has been restarted. Browsers not working yet. Thanks for working on this.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,649
Make sure you don't have a proxy set; in Firefox that's Tools - Options - Advanced - Network - Settings... - No Proxy (unless, of course, you are using a proxy).

What OS?
 

lowcloud

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
9
Ugh.

This morning I uninstalled the internet filter, and it's working fine. I didn't think of it because it hadn't been touched on the day the browsers stopped working. I guess I'll head over to their site and get program-specific help.

Thanks so much for your patience and help!
 

lowcloud

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
9
Yes, it is. Turns out Net Nanny and Zone Alarm were creating the problem. I'm using Windows Firewall for now and so far, so good. :)(y)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top