Solved: Only one computer in my household disconnects from the internet.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Yorio

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 25, 2011
Messages
38
Hello, I've had a problem for a very long time now. I have two computers in the house, and one always seems to lose connection after a bit while the other computer is connected 24/7. I'm at a loss, and I've never been very good with things involving networks. I hope you guys can help me out. I'm up for any suggestions.

- I'm connected to my router through an Ethernet cable-


METHODS TRIED AND FAILED

1.) Scanning computer with AVG anti-virus and Malwarbytes
2.) Uninstalling network adapter and re-installing with the latest drivers
3.) Disabling Apple's bonjour service because I've heard it doesn't work well with Windows
4.) Reset router
5.) Used Norton Removal Tool to completely remove Norton which was lingering on my computer

METHODS THAT ARE KNOWN AND HAVE NOT YET TRIED


1.) Buying a new Ethernet cable (I plan on buying one later this week).
2.) Buying a new NIC (I will not buy a new one until I know all possible methods have been tested. And I don't know if NIC's even affect Ethernet cables at all).

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

IPCONFIG /ALL & PING TESTS: CONNECTED


Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : VillaireFamily1
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-25-64-8B-A9-1C
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::812:85f8:d88c:dd95%10(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.9(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 07, 2013 1:25:15 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 08, 2013 1:25:15 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 218113380
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-C5-D0-75-00-25-64-8B-A9-1C
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled 192.168.1.1

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{B29A85A9-67FB-4AA8-909E-8EF9364C7D09}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


PING TESTS

Default Gateway


Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Villaire Family>Ping 192.168.1.1

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Users\Villaire Family>

Google.com


Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Villaire Family>Ping google.com

Pinging google.com [74.125.225.233] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 74.125.225.233: bytes=32 time=53ms TTL=49
Reply from 74.125.225.233: bytes=32 time=52ms TTL=49
Reply from 74.125.225.233: bytes=32 time=53ms TTL=49
Reply from 74.125.225.233: bytes=32 time=53ms TTL=49

Ping statistics for 74.125.225.233:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 52ms, Maximum = 53ms, Average = 52ms

C:\Users\Villaire Family>

PING 209.183.226.152

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Villaire Family>ping 209.183.226.152

Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=44
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=44
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=44
Reply from 209.183.226.152: bytes=32 time=42ms TTL=44

Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 40ms, Maximum = 42ms, Average = 40ms

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

IPCONFIG /ALL & PING TESTS: DISCONNECTED

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : VillaireFamily1
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-25-64-8B-A9-1C
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::812:85f8:d88c:dd95%10(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.9(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 07, 2013 1:25:15 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 08, 2013 1:25:15 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 218113380
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-C5-D0-75-00-25-64-8B-A9-1C

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{B29A85A9-67FB-4AA8-909E-8EF9364C7
D09}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes



PING TESTS

DEFAULT GATEWAY

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Villaire Family>ping 192.168.1.1

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.9: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.9: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.9: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.9: Destination host unreachable.

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

C:\Users\Villaire Family>

GOOGLE.COM

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Villaire Family>ping google.com
Ping request could not find host google.com. Please check the name and try again
.

C:\Users\Villaire Family>ping

209.183.226.152



Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Villaire Family>ping 209.183.226.152

Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.9: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.9: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.9: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.9: Destination host unreachable.

Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

Yorio

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 25, 2011
Messages
38
Yes, both computers are connected via Ethernet cables. And it might be a possibility. I plan on grabbing a new Ethernet cable to see if that will work. Although, I don't think it's damaged, because nothing really touches it or gets in its way or anything. And the router works fine I know. I don't know if being connected through an Ethernet cable has anything to do with my network adapter.
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
would you post the following tests when the internet is working OK, and then repeat ALL the tests when the internet disconnects.
Make sure you also indicate on the reply which tests are for what condition.

Please post back here the make and exact model of the router and if you have a separate modem, the make and exact model of the modem.

What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

This should also work for windows 8
Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ping Tests
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> type CMD to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

For Windows 8
to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

Type the following command
Ping {then a space and then add the number that is shown against the item labelled "default gateway" shown in the results from the ipconfig /all}
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.183.226.152
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
For your information only
these tests will check various stages of the connection, the first ping test, ping default gateway checks to see if you still have a connection to the router.
The next two Ping google.com & Ping 209.183.226.152 tests the connection to internet. google is to test by name and the ping test using a number is checking that a connection exists without DNS.
these tests then confirm if there is a dns issue on the connection.

------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Yorio

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 25, 2011
Messages
38
The ipconfig and other ping tests are while it's working, I'll re-test and post those after it disconnects.

Antivirus and other things

Norton - No longer have isntalled

AVG - Currently use

Malwarebytes - Trial expired version, can still scan I guess
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
Norton - No longer have isntalled
did you use the removal tool -if not please use
--------------------------------------------------------------

Norton Removal Tool
I would recommend that you restart the PC and run the removal tool for a second time - I have found instances where the removal tool needs to be run twice to fully remove all traces of norton and symantec from the PC
https://www-secure.symantec.com/nor...t=Norton Core&pvid=f-core-cur&version=current

All Versions - The Norton Removal Tool uninstalls all Norton 2010/2009/2008/2007/2006/2005/2004/2003 products, Norton 360 and Norton SystemWorks 12.0 from your computer.
http://majorgeeks.com/Norton_Removal_Tool_SymNRT_d4749.html

--------------------------------------------------------------
 

Yorio

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 25, 2011
Messages
38
did you use the removal tool -if not please use
--------------------------------------------------------------

Norton Removal Tool
I would recommend that you restart the PC and run the removal tool for a second time - I have found instances where the removal tool needs to be run twice to fully remove all traces of norton and symantec from the PC
https://www-secure.symantec.com/norton-support/jsp/help-solutions.jsp?docid=kb20080828154508EN_EndUserProfile_en_us&ct=us&ispid=&lg=en&product=Norton%20Core&pvid=f-core-cur&version=current

All Versions - The Norton Removal Tool uninstalls all Norton 2010/2009/2008/2007/2006/2005/2004/2003 products, Norton 360 and Norton SystemWorks 12.0 from your computer.
http://majorgeeks.com/Norton_Removal_Tool_SymNRT_d4749.html

--------------------------------------------------------------
I have just downloaded, used, restarted, and used again Norton removal tool. I do believe all I did was remove it via add and remove programs.
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Uninstall and allow windows to re-install the adapter and Driver
goto the device manager > Network Adapters > click on the [+] to show all the adapters

right click on the adapter and from the menu

remove/uninstall the adapter

Now restart the pc and allow windows to detect new hardware and re install the adapter and the driver
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Yorio

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 25, 2011
Messages
38
Alright, I re-installed the drivers and the internet seems fine so far. I'll post again if the internet disconnects
 

Yorio

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 25, 2011
Messages
38
I was disconnected out of nowhere again. I guess I'll have to get a new ethernet cable, and if that doesn't work I don't know, maybe I'll have to buy a new network adapter. I don't even know if that can affect anything but wireless. If anyone has any other suggestions they'd be appreciated.
 

Yorio

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 25, 2011
Messages
38
I've realized something that might help someone have some kind of idea.

- Disconnections mainly occur when playing online games or when downloading a game or update on Steam. I've been disconnected once from a youtube video.
*Note: This is not a bandwidth problem. My computer is the only one that will disconnect.

-Just to clarify I am on a wired connection.
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
try a tcp/ip reset and also try safemode

if you connect a different PC to the ethernet cable and same port on the router - does that work , that would test the cable and port

what windows version do you have?
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Safemode with networking
with a cable connected from PC to router
check the cable - see if there is a light on the router associated with the cable port used , also check if you have a green/yellow light on the PC LAN port
- try safemode with networking
as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
safemode with networking - see if that works

------------------------------------------------------------------------

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter

ReStart (reboot) the machine.

If you receive the message
The requested operation requires elevation.
Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
Access is Denied

please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Details also here
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357


------------------------------------------------------------------------

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log and press enter

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

ReStart (reboot) the machine.

Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
Access is Denied

please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Details also here
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357

------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Yorio

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 25, 2011
Messages
38
RESET WINSOCK

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>netsh winsock reset catalog

Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


RESET IPV4

C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
Reseting Echo Request, OK!
Reseting Global, OK!
Reseting Interface, OK!
Reseting Route, OK!
A reboot is required to complete this action.

RESET IPV6

C:\Windows\system32>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
Reseting Echo Request, OK!
Reseting Unicast Address, OK!
Reseting Route, OK!
A reboot is required to complete this action.


C:\Windows\system32>
 

Yorio

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 25, 2011
Messages
38
TCP/IP RESET

I was just disconnect randomly again, although, I was able to play a bit longer than normally. I might be able to go buy an Ethernet cable tonight to replace my current one. And if I do, I'll be sure to post the results of the replacement cable.

SAFEMODE


I wasn't sure what you had in mind for me to do in safe mode. I couldn't play any games or anything and I wasn't sure what to test to see if anything is causing the problem.

*Note: I really appreciate the patience for this problem, although I fear I'll have to format the computer to solve this issue, and I don't even know it will be solved from formatting and re-installing Windows.

I'm up for any suggestions!

UPDATE

-I disconnected once today, where normally I disconnect 5-10 times until I get angry enough and leave the computer
-I have done pvp (player vs player) almost the entire day on Dragon's Nest and haven't disconnected
-The only time I seem to disconnect is when I'm questing in instances. This doesn't make much sense to me because there's no interaction with other players unless you form a party before leaving the town

If you're not a gamer and don't know some of the terms like PvP or instance, I went on Wikipedia for definitions, because they probably had better ones than I could give.
*Player(s) versus player(s), or PvP, is a type of multiplayer interactive conflict within a game between two or more live participants.
*In massively multiplayer online games, an instance is a special area, typically a dungeon, that generates a new copy of the location for each group, or for certain number of players, that enters the area.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top