1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Open with help. (Choose the program you want to use to open this file:)

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Baldcupcake, Feb 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Baldcupcake

    Baldcupcake Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Anytime I try to open anything on my desktop I get this message popping up and don't know what to do for it, I tried to follow instructions on another post but on a step something wasn't working out right and I got stuck. Can someone explain what to do to fix this again?
     
  2. Baldcupcake

    Baldcupcake Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
  3. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Try this fix: EXEFIX

    Unzip the fix and extract the .REG file to the Desktop. Right-click the REG file and choose Merge. Note that you need to be an administrator to apply this fix.

    Reboot the computer.
     
  4. Baldcupcake

    Baldcupcake Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Do I need to open that file on the computer that needs fixing? Because right now I can't open a browser on that computer.
     
  5. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Yes, you need to open and run it on the faulty computer. Copy the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media and plug it into your faulty computer.
     
  6. Baldcupcake

    Baldcupcake Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Well it works but I didn't have to do any of the steps mentioned above. I just put it on a flash drive and plugged it in opened it and it told me that it was put in the registry or something and now all my porgrams work. Thank you.
     
  7. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    That's 'cause you have the USB autorun on.

    Glad it worked! (y)
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/903192

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice