1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: OpenGL subsystem problem with MOHAA

Discussion in 'Games' started by pete8811, Nov 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pete8811

    pete8811 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    here is the problem. I have had this problem before and solved it, but like an ****** did not post or save the fix i found other than to write i put older drivers on. grrr. help please.

    This is the error message in full.


    --- Common Initialization ---
    Medal of Honor Allied Assault 1.11 win-x86 Mar 5 2002
    ----- FS_Startup -----
    Current search path:
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA/main
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\User_mapfix2_3.pk3 (14 files)
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\user-Spearhead blood CyberLain v1.1.pk3 (12 files)
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\User - dot.pk3 (1 files)
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\timskin.pk3 (10 files)
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\ruckmanskin.pk3 (13 files)
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\pak6.pk3 (104 files)
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\Pak5.pk3 (259 files)
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\Pak4.pk3 (593 files)
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\Pak3.pk3 (669 files)
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\Pak2.pk3 (4722 files)
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\Pak1.pk3 (772 files)
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\Pak0.pk3 (11175 files)
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\jruckmanskin.pk3 (10 files)

    ----------------------
    18354 files in pk3 files
    execing default.cfg
    execing menu.cfg
    execing newconfig.cfg
    Config: unnamedsoldier.cfg
    couldn't exec configs/unnamedsoldier.cfg
    couldn't exec localized.cfg
    execing autoexec.cfg
    Unknown command "fov"
    couldn't exec custom.cfg
    ...detecting CPU, found AMD w/ 3DNow!

    ------- Input Initialization -------
    Initializing DirectInput...
    Couldn't set DI coop level
    Falling back to Win32 mouse support...
    ------- Input Initialization Complete ------- 89
    You are now setup for easy mode.
    ----- Client Initialization -----
    Called FadeSound with: 0.000000
    ----- Initializing Renderer ----
    ----- R_Init -----
    Initializing OpenGL subsystem
    ...initializing QGL
    ...calling LoadLibrary( 'C:\WINDOWS\system32\opengl32.dll' ): succeeded
    ...setting mode 4: 800 600 FS
    ...using colorsbits of 32
    ...calling CDS: ok
    ...registered window class
    ...created [email protected],0 (800x600)
    Initializing OpenGL driver
    ...getting DC: succeeded
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD( 32, 24, 0 )
    ...35 PFDs found
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
    ...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
    ...restoring display settings
    ...WARNING: could not set the given mode (4)
    ...setting mode 4: 800 600 FS
    ...using colorsbits of 16
    ...calling CDS: ok
    ...created [email protected],0 (800x600)
    Initializing OpenGL driver
    ...getting DC: succeeded
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
    ...35 PFDs found
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
    ...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
    ...restoring display settings
    ...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
    ...shutting down QGL
    ...unloading OpenGL DLL
    ...assuming '3dfxvgl' is a standalone driver
    ...initializing QGL
    ...WARNING: missing Glide installation, assuming no 3Dfx available
    ...shutting down QGL
    GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem
     
  2. McTimson

    McTimson

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    That error is usually fixed by making sure your video card is capable of running the game, and then installing the latest drivers for that video card.
     
  3. pete8811

    pete8811 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    It ran it previously but i have just re-installed the OS but forgot the previous fix i used to solve the issue, i suspect it may have been directx related. Any ideas?
     
  4. McTimson

    McTimson

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    If you just reinstalled the OS, you need to download and install the drivers for your video card. Right now, you're using default default drivers, you need the specific drivers from your video card manufacturer.
     
  5. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,634
    First Name:
    James
    I concur with the McTimster. If you formatted your drive without reinstalling drivers you will come across errors like this.

    www.nvidia.com
    www.ati.com (now AMD/ATI)
     
  6. pete8811

    pete8811 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Thanks to you both, sometimes although i have solved a problem before i still manage to forget the solution however easy. I downloaded drivers for the Nvidia card and it works well, simple solution, thanks guys.+
     
  7. pete8811

    pete8811 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    here is the problem. I have had this problem before and solved it, but like an ****** did not post or save the fix i found other than to write i put older drivers on. grrr. help please.

    This is the error message in full.


    --- Common Initialization ---
    Medal of Honor Allied Assault 1.11 win-x86 Mar 5 2002
    ----- FS_Startup -----
    Current search path:
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA/main
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\User_mapfix2_3.pk3 (14 files)
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\user-Spearhead blood CyberLain v1.1.pk3 (12 files)
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\User - dot.pk3 (1 files)
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\timskin.pk3 (10 files)
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\ruckmanskin.pk3 (13 files)
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\pak6.pk3 (104 files)
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\Pak5.pk3 (259 files)
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\Pak4.pk3 (593 files)
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\Pak3.pk3 (669 files)
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\Pak2.pk3 (4722 files)
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\Pak1.pk3 (772 files)
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\Pak0.pk3 (11175 files)
    C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\MOHAA\main\jruckmanskin.pk3 (10 files)

    ----------------------
    18354 files in pk3 files
    execing default.cfg
    execing menu.cfg
    execing newconfig.cfg
    Config: unnamedsoldier.cfg
    couldn't exec configs/unnamedsoldier.cfg
    couldn't exec localized.cfg
    execing autoexec.cfg
    Unknown command "fov"
    couldn't exec custom.cfg
    ...detecting CPU, found AMD w/ 3DNow!

    ------- Input Initialization -------
    Initializing DirectInput...
    Couldn't set DI coop level
    Falling back to Win32 mouse support...
    ------- Input Initialization Complete ------- 89
    You are now setup for easy mode.
    ----- Client Initialization -----
    Called FadeSound with: 0.000000
    ----- Initializing Renderer ----
    ----- R_Init -----
    Initializing OpenGL subsystem
    ...initializing QGL
    ...calling LoadLibrary( 'C:\WINDOWS\system32\opengl32.dll' ): succeeded
    ...setting mode 4: 800 600 FS
    ...using colorsbits of 32
    ...calling CDS: ok
    ...registered window class
    ...created [email protected],0 (800x600)
    Initializing OpenGL driver
    ...getting DC: succeeded
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD( 32, 24, 0 )
    ...35 PFDs found
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
    ...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
    ...restoring display settings
    ...WARNING: could not set the given mode (4)
    ...setting mode 4: 800 600 FS
    ...using colorsbits of 16
    ...calling CDS: ok
    ...created [email protected],0 (800x600)
    Initializing OpenGL driver
    ...getting DC: succeeded
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
    ...35 PFDs found
    ...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
    ...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
    ...restoring display settings
    ...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
    ...shutting down QGL
    ...unloading OpenGL DLL
    ...assuming '3dfxvgl' is a standalone driver
    ...initializing QGL
    ...WARNING: missing Glide installation, assuming no 3Dfx available
    ...shutting down QGL
    GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem


    The fix is download latest videocard drivers from manufacturers website. In this case NVidia.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/648223

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice