1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Opening old files

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by PollyWog, Jan 25, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. PollyWog

    PollyWog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    I have some old documents that won't open any more. I guess the old Word isn't compatible with the new Word, but I'm not sure how to fix this. Details:
    I'm using Mac OS X Lion 10.7.5.
    I'm now using Microsoft Word for Mac 2008 version 2.1.0. (I download all the updates I'm sent, so I don't know why it is only 2008.)
    Sample old document uses Microsoft Word 1.x-5.x document; document created 4/3/03.
    http://b.tsgstatic.com/smilies/redface.gif
    Thanks.
     
  2. Rearden

    Rearden Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    169
    What error are you getting when you open a Word 2008 document in Word 2011? Office 2008 is an older version. You can purchase an upgrade to Office 2011 if you'd like.

    https://www.microsoft.com/mac/products
     
  3. PollyWog

    PollyWog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    I don't get any message. The document simply won't open. I double-click, and nothing happens. One of the docs says "Created 1/10/08; Modified 1/10/08; Last opened 1/10/08; Kind: Microsoft Word 1.x - 5.x document."
    The icon is different than the icon that is used in Word now, too.
     
  4. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    15,972
    First Name:
    David
  5. PollyWog

    PollyWog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    I went to the support website and was studying it when my husband showed me that I can open these old files if I open Word first and then click on "open." (as opposed to double-clicking) I thought I had already tried that, but I must not have done it the correct way. So the problem is solved.
    Thank you to both people who gave me suggestions!
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1086794

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice