1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: opening old MS Works files in New MS works program?

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by cheesha, Aug 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cheesha

    cheesha Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    198
    I was using an OLD version of Microsoft works....4.x on my XP system.

    I just bought Works 9.0 from Microsoft and Installed it but it won't let me open my old Works files. I've searched for a converter but they say they are for Windows 98 systems.

    Anybody have any idea how I can open my old files in my new works program?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. burntreality

    burntreality

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    193
    You could try http://www.zamzar.com/
    We used it to open new excel files, in an older version.
    It might be worth a shot.
     
  4. bomb #21

    bomb #21

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    8,436
    How many files are involved, and what type(s)? Are they complex?

    Maybe you could use the trial of this to just get into them and copy & paste to your new Works.

    Did you buy Works 9 to have an up-to-date cheap suite? The vast majority of members here would recommend avoiding Works (any version) like the plague. Sorry. :(

    OpenOffice
     
  5. cheesha

    cheesha Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    198
    Thanks for the ideas, I'll try them!
     
  6. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
  7. cheesha

    cheesha Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    198
    Thanks for all the tips! I ended up installing an older version <something in between> and all the files opened properly. Then, I installed 9 and all is well. It appears the jump from 4.5 to 9 was too big a leap.

    I rarely use it but I also don't want to lose all those old files.

    thanks again!
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/741975