Solved: Opinions on this system?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Deathblow

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 7, 2003
Messages
1,826
Friend of mine is building a system and wants some input on things. He wants it for business, and as a lower/high-end gamer. Here's the specs:

Core 2 Duo E6600 (2.4), Intel DQ965RGFEKR Motherboard W/1000 LAN, IEEE1394, RAID, and Integrated audio,

eVGA GeForce 7950GT KO 512MB Videocard

Lite-On 18X DL DVD+/-RW Drive

2GB 5300 DDR2 (2x1GB) RAM

WesternDigital 320GB SATA2 HD

Antec TruePower 550 watt dual fan power supply

Windows XP Professional SP2

Total is running about $1350.

Any comment, suggestions, red flags would be welcome.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2004
Messages
834
I wouldn't suggest buying an Intel motherboard, get either Asus, Gigabyte or a motherboard using an Nvidia 680 chipset...
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
other than they do not overclock, they are highly recommended for intel cpuz, not a darn thing wrong with them
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,786
Clumbsy_Mage said:
I wouldn't suggest buying an Intel motherboard, get either Asus, Gigabyte or a motherboard using an Nvidia 680 chipset...
I am just wondering why would you want something other than an intel chipset?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,786
Your parts selection look very good to me. Just be aware you need memory that runs at 1.8V to the jadec standard. Intel boards do not give you the option to adjust vdimm so you have to use the correct memory.
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
1,085
I would suggest getting DDR2 667 Ram instead of 533. It's faster, and since you're getting a burner of a CPU, the faster RAM will allow you to get the full benefit of that.

Be SURE to go to Intel's website and select RAM that is known to be compatible.

Also, the Seagate 7200.10 SATA drives have a five year warranty, and are comparable in price to the WD's.

Get a retail version of the DVD burner so that you get Nero with it.

Excellent choices. Good system.

And by the way, there is absolutely NOTHING wrong with Intel boards. You can't overclock them, but you don't need to overclock an E6600 system. Intel and ASUS (with Intel chipsets) are the standard in high end builds.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2004
Messages
834
crjdriver said:
I am just wondering why would you want something other than an intel chipset?
Read the post and see "Intel motherboard". Asus and Gigabyte both supply quality Intel chipset motherboards that when combined with a C2D acheive at least 40% overclocks on stock voltages with 100% stability. Nvidia 680 chipset motherboards are more expensive and are good overclockers as well. Buy a C2D and don't overclock it, waste of money IMO.
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
1,085
Clumbsy_Mage said:
Buy a C2D and don't overclock it, waste of money IMO.
I don't know about that.

First rule of overclocking: don't overclock what you can't afford to lose. I don't think it's a waste to run a system at the speeds that the manufacturers determine are safe and stable. Nothing WRONG with overclocking, but it's best left to experienced techs.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,786
Clumbsy_Mage said:
Read the post and see "Intel motherboard". Asus and Gigabyte both supply quality Intel chipset motherboards that when combined with a C2D acheive at least 40% overclockers on stock voltages with 100% stability. Nvidia 680 chipset motherboards are more expensive and are good overclockers as well. Buy a C2D and don't overclock it, waste of money IMO.
This quote from your post would lead most people to think you are recommending a board with an nvidia chipset.
I wouldn't suggest buying an Intel motherboard, get either Asus, Gigabyte or a motherboard using an Nvidia 680 chipset...
Using anything other than an intel chipset for a first build is really asking for "problems" While an experienced system builder might find an nvidia chipset board fine, for a first build I would stick with a board using an intel chipset.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2004
Messages
834
crjdriver said:
This quote from your post would lead most people to think you are recommending a board with an nvidia chipset.
Using anything other than an intel chipset for a first build is really asking for "problems" While an experienced system builder might find an nvidia chipset board fine, for a first build I would stick with a board using an intel chipset.
I'll reiterate again, I said "don't use an Intel motherboard", not "don't use an Intel chipset". I don't want to sound patronising or come across as not a very nice person, maybe you're understanding what I'm saying already and I haven't understood what you are saying.

What I was saying about the Nvidia chipset boards is that if you've got the money by all means shell out on one but the Intel chipset boards are cheaper and offer only slightly less performance.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,786
Clumbsy_Mage said:
I'll reiterate again, I said "don't use an Intel motherboard", not "don't use an Intel chipset". I don't want to sound patronising or come across as not a very nice person, maybe you're understanding what I'm saying already and I haven't understood what you are saying.

What I was saying about the Nvidia chipset boards is that if you've got the money by all means shell out on one but the Intel chipset boards are cheaper and offer only slightly less performance.
Look at your post you recommend an nvidia chipset. This might be fine for an experienced builder, however NOT for a first timer.
I wouldn't suggest buying an Intel motherboard, get either Asus, Gigabyte or a motherboard using an Nvidia 680 chipset...
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2004
Messages
834
Why do you think using an Nvidia 680 chipset motherboard entails a user to be some sort of technological genius? Plug everything in, the BIOS will autodetect everything, will set optimized defaults and away you go :eek:
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2005
Messages
11,670
Are you sure the board you have listed is correct, i.e. DQ965RGFEKR. I don't find it listed at Intel.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with Intel boards. I have been building with Intel processors and boards for quite a few years and have had a minimal amount of problems.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top