1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] Out of Paper

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Stumpor, Sep 23, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Stumpor

    Stumpor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    I have an HP deskjet 842c hooked up to an new Dell computer with XP . I've installed it according to the " Wizard " and tried to print a test page but nothing happens . It does say that the page has been printed but there is nothing . A flag pops up saying " Out of Paper " . There is lottsa paper . No paper jam . Brand new ink cartridges but the printer doesn't even grunt .

    Any suggestions ?
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,847
    First Name:
    Rob
    Waht kind of hook up is the printer using? Is it USB or parallel? Also you should gop to the HP site and download the latest drivers for the printer and try those.
     
  3. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Does the printer sound like it's trying to pull paper thru and print?

    Oops, re-read, not even a grunt.....silly question, is it plugged in? Lights on????
     
  4. Aaron.W

    Aaron.W

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    485
    Shut off the printer, take out the paper and the feeder, put them back in and then turn it back on.

    One or both might be slightly out of position. It happens quite often.
     
  5. Stumpor

    Stumpor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    I have been to the HP site and tried their driver . I actually tried them first until I realized XP already has the driver .

    Parallel hook up Plugged in Top light on .
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Device manager showing the parallel port there without errors?

    Also, it's going straight into the computer? Not passing thru anything else?
     
  7. Stumpor

    Stumpor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Device Manager showed ECP Printer Port LPT1

    Straight to Computer from printer

    Removed paper and feeder , replaced No Change

    It will preview printing but not print
     
  8. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Try changing the settings on the printer port to EPP. I think you can do that via the properties on the printer itself.
     
  9. Stumpor

    Stumpor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Went to printer properties but failed to find EPP .
     
  10. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Sorry, try changing it there in the device manager where you saw the port.....
     
  11. jimi

    jimi

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    3,947
    if someone knows how to change the port type through the device manager i'd like to know about that also - try changing it in the bios - not contradicting you Candice :eek: ;) just don't know how to do what you suggested
     
  12. Stumpor

    Stumpor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    If you go into device manager tab ports you can enable plug 'n play

    It didn't change anything Acacandy
     
  13. Stumpor

    Stumpor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Computer was restarted
     
  14. Stumpor

    Stumpor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    The device manager still says ECP Printer Port LPT1

    Maybe I should try the printer back on the old computer and see if it works there . Any suggestios
     
  15. jimi

    jimi

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    3,947
    try it!
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/166903

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice