1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Outlook 2003/Exchange 2007 - "Your Version of Outlook has been blocked..."

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by mantis484, Feb 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantis484

mantis484 Thread Starter

Hi,

My organisation has just rolled out an Exchange 2007 Server.
    I am a desktop support engineer for my unit. We are setting up access to the server through Outlook 2003.

A small number of Outlook 2003 users get this error message when they are using a .prf file to configure their clients.

"Your Exchange Server administrator has blocked the version of Outlook that you are using. Contact your administrator for assistance."

This is XP SP2 running Outlook 2003 (error occurs on Office, Office SP2 and Office SP3) connecting to Exchange 2007.

I have tried tried applying SP2 and SP3 to Office and completely reinstalling Office but it still occurs.

I am told by the Server Administrators that this is a local problem so I am not getting any help from them. I tend to believe them that it's not server side because I set one of the profiles up on two PCs next to eachother. On one it worked fine but on the other it had this error message. I could not see a difference in the two Outlook installations.

I have read this article here http://support.microsoft.com/kb/924625 but a lot of the questions it asks and tests involve having administrator access over the server which I do not have.

Does anyone know of anything in the local Office installation that I do have control over that has been known to cause this?

All the best,

mantis484

2. mantis484

mantis484 Thread Starter

Hi we managed to find the solution so I'm posting it here to help others.