Solved: OUTLOOK 2007 will not save e-mail settings!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Iamjo20

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2007
Messages
100
All of a sudden, when changing ONE password for ONE e-mail address, Outlook 2007 will NOT save the outgoing or incoming server settings or e-mail user id or password. The little box continues to compe up prompting me to check the box, re-enter unser id and password for outgoing and incoming mail!

I have deleted the account and re-entered the account; I have run diagnostics and also scanpst -I am at a loss here! Thank for any input!:
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,999
How are you changing the password?

It MUST be done on the server, and can not be done from within Outlook. Then once that has been done, then they need to be updated in Outlook.

Since you stated that you have deleted the account (I assume from Outlook), then you need to make sure that you have entered the correct server names and settings.

What is your email ISP?
 

Iamjo20

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2007
Messages
100
I deleted and re-entered the e-mail on Outlook -

I initially put in the new password on the web mail for Earthlink ( isp)

I did check all incoming and outgoing server settings.all are correct,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
 

Iamjo20

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2007
Messages
100
HI there - the password does work online at webmail for Earthlink; I AM using the setting shown; and the port is definitely changed to 587 -

weird huh?????

thanks!
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,999
There is 4 different groups that Earhlink has bought out over the yeras, are you using the correct group?

What Domain is used in your email address?

Domain earthlink.net, mindspring.com, ix.netcom.com, or onemain.com ?
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,999
Then you have missed something or typed in any character that is not correct.
You have included the "smtpauth" and POP in the entries where required?
 

Iamjo20

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2007
Messages
100
yes - the smtpauth or POP are where they are supposed to be - the only thing I know to do - AGAIN - is to delete the e-mail address and enter a new one......................

very frustrating as I have done all of this several times
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,999
That will gain you nothing, but give you a new email address which MUST be done at earthlink and then you would need to use the same settings you are trying to use now, except for the user name.


Do you have the complete correct email address entered in the box?

It may help if you could post some screen shots of account settings?
 

Iamjo20

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 1, 2007
Messages
100
thought I uploaded the screen shots file - but do not see it................
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top