1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Outlook Express to Ubuntu

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by twscarp, Oct 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. twscarp

twscarp Thread Starter

Hi guys (& girls), I have been computing with XP for about 5 1/2 years, with no major issues, but admittedly I'm not that swift technically with it. Monday I downloaded Ubuntu 10.04 LTS, followed the dual boot instructions, and it is working! Thought I would give it a try. I have read some articles and googled topics, but cannot get the email working. I currently use Outlook Express in XP, and works every well for me. I would like to use that also in Ubuntu, but apparently is not possible. What is a easy solution, do people bring their old email program with them somehow, or do they use the email program Evolution packaged with Ubuntu? I tried downloading Thunderbird (I read that to import the OE addresses, it must go through Thunderbird), and I think it downloaded, but I don't know where it went, and don't know how to proceed. Any help would be appreciated, thanks,...Tom

2. 1002richards

1002richards Trusted Advisor

Hi,
    For Thunderbird -
    - where did you download it from?.
    - have you looked for it in the menu/ Possibly 'applications' > office or applications > internet?

Evolution comes with Ubuntu as you've noticed. It's a bit more like Outlook than Outlook Express as it comes with calendar & reminder etc.

See how your hunt for Thunderbird goes first though!!

Richard

3. TerryNet

TerryNet Terry Moderator

I use Thunderbird in all my systems, but I'm sure Evolution also works fine.

4. twscarp

twscarp Thread Starter