Solved: over clocking my dell inspiron 1100

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

wyred

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 30, 2005
Messages
40
i've heard just a little about over clocking, but i have heard that dell 'locks' their bios, keeping one from overclocking the hard drive.

as it is, i have a 2.4gig processor, and certainly wouldn't mind bumping that up a little.

is this possible?
 
Joined
May 23, 2003
Messages
164
dell does lock their bios so i dont think it is possible my friend. i have read on a few forums that some companies such as sony have used oem mobos. if they do/did (not sure on the validity of this) you could get a bios update from that manufacturer.
 

wyred

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 30, 2005
Messages
40
figured as much, thanks anyways though.

btw, what the heck are mobos???
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
And if you could overclock it, you could not get rid of the extra heat (which is generated exponentially in many overclocks) in a lapop, so a failure would occur or if it can speedstep down it would.

Result would be negative in both cases.
 

wyred

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 30, 2005
Messages
40
kiwiguy said:
And if you could overclock it, you could not get rid of the extra heat
I'd heard that as well, and as a result wouldn't have done much to it. I was going to get this fan pad that sites under it with 2 large, powerful fans to draw excess heat away. but, that probably still wouldn't have done it, eh?
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
You're pretty much asking for trouble. Also there is no way to do it with hardware or in the BIOS. You would need a software program to overclock the CPU in Windows.

Furthermore its the CPU, RAM, and Front Side Bus that you'd be overclocking not the hard drive.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top