Solved: overheating problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dwaynea515

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 9, 2001
Messages
601
I have a generic machine running W2000 pro and the client says that it kept shutting down by itself. I found that the cpu cooling fan was worn out so I replaced it. Here is the problem, now windows wont load I cant get any programs to run, I tried to get the seagate HD diagnostic tool to run to check the HD but it gets to 35% and quits. everything just freezes while trying to start. Is this a motherboard problem or what do I need to test next or check.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2004
Messages
3,370
If you replaced the Heatsink at the same time, then make sure that you re-applied the Thermal Paste or Thermal Pad...AFTER thoroughly cleaning off the old residue.

Also make sure that the Heatsink is sitting PERFECTLY FLUSH on the chip.

Also make sure that you plugged the Fan lead into the correct MOBO connector. Some fans/boards use sensor leads and track fan speed. If there is no signal present they shutdown the system.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2005
Messages
3,390
G'day dwaynea, you might obtain "memtest86" and give it a run, accept no errors whatsoever. It is a program you can obtain off the net and make a bootable disk that will bring up a memory test program. It is free.
Although memory may not be your problem it is part of a removal of possibilities.
You do appear to have a possible hard drive failure likelyhood.
Cheers, qldit.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2005
Messages
3,390
By the way "good judgement" comes from guessing right more often than not! LOL!
 
Joined
May 24, 2001
Messages
1,824
I suspect that the ram may have overheated as well, is there more than one module in?
maybe remove one stick if you have two, and see if it run's with either one.

Also reseat the ram and check all connetion's , you may have disturbed somthing while replacing the fan.

And yes if you have removed the heatsink you have to clean the old stuff off and reapply a good thermal paste.

What processor is it ?

Like winbob said, some heatsink's can be a little tricky to get them to sit flush with the top of the processor like socket 370s and the athalon's i've found to be bugger's.


have you tryed blowing a fan inside the case?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
44,870
What type of cpu does this system use?

Did you pull the hsf or did you just remove the fan part and replace that?

If this is an athlon xp type of cpu, there is a good chance of installing the hsf backwards. This prevents the hsf from sitting flush on the cpu die.
 

dwaynea515

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 9, 2001
Messages
601
OK I am sorry I cant tell you exactly what fixed the problem. I went ahead and followed all of the suggestions and it worked. I suspect it was the thermal paste that was the culprit. I cleaned and reapplied and made sure of the fit, I reseated the memory, then rechecked all of the connections. when I powered up it worked, thank you for all of the suggestions, nest time I will go a little slower so I can isolate the problem.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2005
Messages
3,390
G'day dwaynea515, well done! I actually knew that!!! I was just sitting back!
In actual fact the problem in all these kinds of cases can be traced to a problem with the "nut behind the switch". LOL.
Cheers, qldit.
 
Joined
May 24, 2001
Messages
1,824
G'day qdit ! how she hanging in the tropics? :)

It's 33c here today ....Phew not used to the heat! :p

but my computer is still at 35c. :D
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2005
Messages
3,390
It is mid winter here and we have a real cold snap, currently midnight and temperature is someting like 15 degs C, I have had to put a jumper on, we don't have any heaters. I haven't seen blondey, hope all is well over there in NY. I don't mind the warmth. 33, wow that is getting up there. 35 degs c is amazing, can you imagine how your computer temp would go with a few peltier devices dipped in it. It would be a room cooler!!
A prescott reciprocal device.
Cheers, qldit.
 
Joined
May 24, 2001
Messages
1,824
Acually I have a peltier device in the other
room.

Oh nooo you got me started again ! hhehe
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
Derrick said:
G'day qdit ! how she hanging in the tropics? :)

It's 33c here today ....Phew not used to the heat! :p

but my computer is still at 35c. :D
how do you do that, its about 33c here also except my cpu is about 55c just on the internet. those stock hsf suck i guess, i even have the one with the copper core and AS5 still no joy, fan says 4000rpm for cpu fan thru Everest

oh yeah, water cooled, cheater :D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top