1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Page cannot be displayed message in IE, Firefox

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by dmalone, Feb 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dmalone

    dmalone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    For about the past week, I've been getting an error message when I try to access the server at work from home.

    The problem may be related to switching from dial-up to a high speed connection last week. There weren't any problems for about five days, and then all of a sudden I couldn't access my remote email or any of the school's web pages. Any URL that contains uu.edu gets an error message in both IE and Firefox.

    The server is working - I can access my email and the various web-pages while I'm at work and via the dial-up connection on my laptop. I've talked to one of the tech guys at work and he's talked me through some possibilities: clearing cookies and files and history, reconfiguring the DNS connection (?)(pardon my ignorance). When those options didn't work, he said the problem might be with my service provider . . . they said the problem might be with the server.

    Any insights? I searched for other posts with this problem, but nobody seemed to have this particular issue. I followed the initial advice for rachellll - didn't seem to work.
     
  2. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,270
  3. dmalone

    dmalone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Tried it. Got message "Windows cannot find ipconfig/flushdns."

    ??
     
  4. Eriksrocks

    Eriksrocks

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,183
    What OS are you running?
     
  5. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,270

    You need to put a space after the ipconfig as shown in the image
     
  6. Eriksrocks

    Eriksrocks

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,183
    Or use this alternate method:
    1. Go to Start > Run....
    2. Type in cmd or command.
    3. Enter ipconfig/flushdns. If that doesn't work, enter ipconfig /flushdns (with a space).
     
  7. dmalone

    dmalone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Sorry. Stupid mistake.

    Ran ipconfig /flushdns.

    Still got "page cannot be displayed."

    The OS is Windows XP.

    Sorry for waiting so long to reply. I'm distracted by car problems now, too.
     
  8. Eriksrocks

    Eriksrocks

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,183
    Please follow the following steps:
    1. Go to Start > Run....
    2. Type in cmd and press OK.
    3. Type in tracert DOMAIN OR IP, replacing "DOMAIN OR IP" with the domain name or IP address of the server.
    4. Let the tracert run. Once it's done, right-click, go to Select All, and press Enter to copy the results.
    5. Please paste the results in your next post.
    This will inform us where the problem is occuring. :)
     
  9. dmalone

    dmalone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Here's the results for the tracert:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Malone family>tracert www.uu.edu

    Tracing route to www.uu.edu [72.4.46.24]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 13 ms 8 ms 7 ms 172.28.19.65
    2 4 ms 7 ms 7 ms 192.168.16.241
    3 3 ms 6 ms 8 ms 192.168.255.6
    4 10 ms 6 ms 5 ms 192.168.32.162
    5 * * * Request timed out.
    6 * * * Request timed out.
    7 * * * Request timed out.
    8 * * * Request timed out.
    9 * * * Request timed out.
    10 * * * Request timed out.
    11 * * * Request timed out.
    12 * * * Request timed out.
    13 * * * Request timed out.
    14 * * * Request timed out.
    15 * * * Request timed out.
    16 * * * Request timed out.
    17 * * * Request timed out.
    18 * * * Request timed out.
    19 * * * Request timed out.
    20 * * * Request timed out.
    21 * * * Request timed out.
    22 * * * Request timed out.
    23 * * * Request timed out.
    24 * * * Request timed out.
    25 * * * Request timed out.
    26 * * * Request timed out.
    27 * * * Request timed out.
    28 * * * Request timed out.
    29 * * * Request timed out.
    30 * * * Request timed out.

    Trace complete.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Malone family>
     
  10. dmalone

    dmalone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Something else:

    My wife and daughter said they're being timed out from yahoo mail, xanga, and carepages.com. The "Your session has expired" page at care pages says you can reach this page after an hour of inactivity or if your browser doesn't accept session cookies. The problem is, we get sent to the page after less than a minute of inactivity, and the IE privacy setting is "Medium" (in fact, it automatically resets to medium if we try to move the bar to a lower setting).

    I've checked out carepages.com using Firefox - there doesn't seem to be a problem.

    Don't know if this is related or not, but it's something that's started happening recently too.
     
  11. dmalone

    dmalone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Today, tech guy at work suggested disabling DNS Client.

    Tried it.

    Still can't load anything from the server.

    In other news, mechanic can't figure out why car won't start.

    Not a good day.
     
  12. Eriksrocks

    Eriksrocks

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,183
    Are you going through any type of router, or is your PC connected directly to the internet? :)
     
  13. dmalone

    dmalone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Directly connected.
     
  14. Eriksrocks

    Eriksrocks

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,183
    Are you still having the problem? It looks to be an ISP problem or something out of your control. I would wait a couple of days, and if it still doesn't work, call your ISP.
     
  15. dmalone

    dmalone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks. I'll call in the next couple of days.

    Is it possible the problem could be with the server? I just heard yesterday of someone who has the same problem - she gets the page cannot be displayed message whenever she tries to call up any page at that address - but we don't have the same ISP.

    Again, thanks for the help.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/439889