1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Page Errors in IE 7

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by jaredk, Nov 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jaredk

    jaredk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    I am getting error messages on a good number of web pages when I try to open them with IE 7. Most of the time the page will load, but a certain image(s) will be blank. Sometimes, however, nothing loads (e.g. espn360.com video).

    The error report usually says this:

    Line: 2
    Char: 1
    Error: Syntax Error
    Code:0

    But sometimes it's completely different.

    The only thing new in the last few days on my computer is Microsoft Automatic Updates. I did system restore to before the updates, but that didn't help. I also tried updating Java - no good.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. jaredk

    jaredk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
  3. d33psky

    d33psky

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    How bloated is your temporary internet files folder in terms of number of files? Are you able to view other Flash heavy sites like Zillow, CNN Video, etc?
     
  4. jaredk

    jaredk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    If I go to C:\Windows\Temp\Temporary Internet Files, right-click the folder, and select "properties", it says I have 41 files in 5 folders. But if I double click the Temporary Internet Files folder nothing shows up.

    I tried going to CNN Video, and it was an absolute mess. There were boxes all over the place with the little red x's in them.
     
  5. d33psky

    d33psky

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Just an FYI, in WinXP at least, temp internet files are stored in - C:\Documents and Settings\YOURUSERNAME\Local Settings\Temporary Internet Files. The easiest way to view them is to, from IE, click Tools > Internet Options > Browsing history Settings > View Files.

    I would try the following:

    First, clear out your temporary internet files by using IE's Tools > Internet Options > Delete or using CCleaner.

    Then, go here: http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/155/tn_15507.html and see what version of Flash you are running. If not little box comes up with your version number, operating system, etc your Flash is either not installed or corrupt. If this is the case you will want to uninstall Flash if there is a corrupt installation and reinstall from Adobe's site.
     
  6. jaredk

    jaredk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks for the shortcut tip. I deleted the temporary internet files the easy way.

    When I followed your link, the box said this:

    Your Player Version: WIN 10,0,12,36
    Debug Player: No

    Operating system: Windows XP
    Video Capable: Yes
    Audio Capable: Yes
    Local File I/O Enabled: Yes

    And, just for clarification, I retried loading CNN video after deleting the temp files, but the result was the same.
     
  7. d33psky

    d33psky

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    No problem.

    It sounds like your Flash installation is bad. I actually had this happen to one of my users in my organization last week. They had Flash installed and it showed up in the Version Test, but it wasn't being recognized by Internet Explorer.

    I uninstalled it from Add/Remove Programs, restarted the computer, and reinstalled it from Adobe's site here: http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/
     
  8. jaredk

    jaredk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Well, that didn't work either. So I went to the Adobe Support Center and they have a few explanations for why flash content might not show up after reinstallation. I am going to try these two:


    I won't be able to get to it until later this afternoon, but I'll let you know what I find out.
     
  9. jaredk

    jaredk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Well, I finally fixed it, though I'm still not sure what was causing the problem. Just in case anyone else searches the forum with a similar problem in the future, the solution was to reset Internet Explorer.

    The procedure is very simple, but it's a PITA because it resets all your settings like homepage, toolbars, add-ons, etc. You can find instructions here: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/923737/ln/

    Thanks, d33psky, for your help. I wouldn't have gotten anywhere on my own.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/877298