1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: page numbers underlined in black

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by starnelka, Dec 31, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. starnelka

    starnelka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    646
    First Name:
    Vow
    Whilst editing some work I'd done I suddenly found the whole text had been underlined. I managed to sort this but the page numbers remain underlined in black and I can't find a way to clear this. I know I can probably remove all the numbers then put them back but the first two pages of my work are number free and I want them to stay that way. it was too much hassle removing the numbers from those two pages for me to want to do it again!

    I'm using Word 2007 with Win7 and my browser is FF. Can anyone give me an easy solution please? Plus a reason for this?
    Many thanks.
     
  2. starnelka

    starnelka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    646
    First Name:
    Vow
    Since no-one here seemed to know the answer I just kept on searching and finally found the solution. By pressing Control/U twice it will remove all unnecessary underlining. Simple when you know how!
     
  3. md2lgyk

    md2lgyk

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,068
    Ctrl-U turns underlining on and off. You must've turned it on at some time.
     
  4. starnelka

    starnelka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    646
    First Name:
    Vow
    Obviously I accidentally turned it on as the whole 13 chapters were underlined to start with though I managed to clear that. I didn't know that page numbers would be also underlined and that by using control/U twice it would remove the underscore. I still work on the old (very!) keystrokes of Control/UL for underline and Control/CE for centering. I don't think either are right now.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1083161

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice