1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Painfully Slow

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by jgerman1, Jan 19, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jgerman1

    jgerman1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    166
    I have a spare PC that I don't use very often because it's painfully Slow. I've tried removing all "stuff" that I don't use. I've reinstalled the OS, but it still is painfully slow and I can't figure out why. Maybe some one can help.....Please!

    This is an old eMachines T1090

    The General tab of the System file is:

    System
    Microsoft Windows XP
    Home Edition
    Version 2002
    Service Pack 3

    Manfactured and supported by:
    eMachines
    T1090
    Intel Celeron Processor
    897 MHz, 256MB of RAM

    HiJackThis Log file is:

    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.4
    Scan saved at 11:43:56 AM, on 1/19/2012
    Platform: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v8.00 (8.00.6001.18702)
    Boot mode: Normal

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    c:\Program Files\Microsoft Security Client\Antimalware\MsMpEng.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\pctspk.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Security Client\msseces.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\wuauclt.exe
    c:\Program Files\Microsoft Security Client\Antimalware\MpCmdRun.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HiJackThis\HiJackThis.exe
    c:\Program Files\Microsoft Security Client\Antimalware\MpCmdRun.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    O2 - BHO: HP Print Enhancer - {0347C33E-8762-4905-BF09-768834316C61} - C:\Program Files\HP\Smart Web Printing\hpswp_printenhancer.dll
    O2 - BHO: HP Print Clips - {053F9267-DC04-4294-A72C-58F732D338C0} - C:\Program Files\HP\Smart Web Printing\hpswp_framework.dll
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHelperStub - {18DF081C-E8AD-4283-A596-FA578C2EBDC3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelperShim.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MSC] "c:\Program Files\Microsoft Security Client\msseces.exe" -hide -runkey
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunOnce: [AvgUninstallURL] cmd.exe /c start http://www.avg.com/ww.special-uninstallation-feedback-appf?lic=NFVWSzItQUxZTUYtU0xLTFUtQVoyVUItNkdPS0ItSkhGTkg"&"inst=NzctNTAyNTc0MTc5LUZMKzktRjEwTSs1LVFJWDErNC1YMjAxMCsyLUZMMTArMS1MSUMrNy1ERFQrNTA1NzEtREQxMEYrMS1TVDEwRkFQUCsx"&"prod=90"&"ver=10.0.1392
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    O9 - Extra button: HP Clipbook - {58ECB495-38F0-49cb-A538-10282ABF65E7} - C:\Program Files\HP\Smart Web Printing\hpswp_extensions.dll
    O9 - Extra button: HP Smart Select - {700259D7-1666-479a-93B1-3250410481E8} - C:\Program Files\HP\Smart Web Printing\hpswp_extensions.dll
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {CD67F990-D8E9-11d2-98FE-00C0F0318AFE} - (no file)
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://www.e4me.com
    O16 - DPF: {6414512B-B978-451D-A0D8-FCFDF33E833C} (WUWebControl Class) - http://update.microsoft.com/windowsupdate/v6/V5Controls/en/x86/client/wuweb_site.cab?1263069420639
    O16 - DPF: {E2883E8F-472F-4FB0-9522-AC9BF37916A7} - http://platformdl.adobe.com/NOS/getPlusPlus/1.6/gp.cab
    O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Browseui preloader - {438755C2-A8BA-11D1-B96B-00A0C90312E1} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\browseui.dll
    O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Component Categories cache daemon - {8C7461EF-2B13-11d2-BE35-3078302C2030} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\browseui.dll
    O23 - Service: PCTEL Speaker Phone (Pctspk) - PCtel, Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\pctspk.exe

    --
    End of file - 4015 bytes
     
  2. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    76,289
    that right there is going to be the culprit. That's a pretty low-end processor, and I'm not sure how much ram that motherboard will hold, but if you can get it to 512, that would be a huge step in the right direction.
     
  3. jgerman1

    jgerman1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    166
    Thanks valis, for responding so soon.

    I thought the same thing. The system originally came with 128MB and I added an additional 128MB. I've been looking for the Users Guide, but if I remember correctly, 256 is the max for this machine (I could be wrong) and yes I do know that this system has a low-end processor. I have another PC running VISTA-64, and it runs great. Maybe it has spoiled me, but it seems like that eMachines ran a lot faster when I first bought it even before I added the 128MB.

    Thanks again.
     
  4. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    76,289
    I checked here and it states it will hold 512 max.....again, that's the first place I would start.



    and yes, I'd say you've been a bit spoiled by the newer technology.......hard to remember 56k modems, eh? :)
     
  5. jgerman1

    jgerman1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    166
    How 'bout 300BAUD:) It's been so long.
     
  6. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    76,289
    Yup. :)

    I definitely remember the old phone cups.......jeeze, I remember when 8 mb of ram was a power user.......:)
     
  7. jgerman1

    jgerman1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    166
    I've been looking at Task Manager and the CPU Usage is always at 100% on the graph. Never paid it any attention before. Is that normal?
     
  8. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    76,289
    not really....take a look at the processes tab and sort it by cpu usage.....
     
  9. jgerman1

    jgerman1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    166
    I have 1 svchost.exeprocess running in the mid to high 90s. Once in awhile it drops out of that range, but not often. The user is SYSTEM.
     
  10. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    76,289
    try ending it and see what happens....there should be a bunch of svdhosts running, I've killed them before with no ill effect, but I have also had the rig reboot a couple times........
     
  11. jgerman1

    jgerman1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    166
    I terminated the svchost.exe that was using all the CPU time. The CPU Usage dropped way down, but it didn't do anything to speed up the system. What did happen was it created a System Idle Process that showed a lot of CPU usage in the Process Tab but it doesn't appear to effect the the CPU Usage on the Graph that appears under the Performance Tab. The Graph under the Performance Tab showed low CPU Usage.

    Oh well, I just guess I have to learn to live with it until such time as I replace the PC.
     
  12. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,789
    The closer to 100% for System Idle Process, the better. In a nutshell, it means nothing is using CPU.

    There's not much you can do to speed up that computer with 256 MB of RAM. You already have very few processes running.
     
  13. jgerman1

    jgerman1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    166
    Thanks valis and Phantom010.
     
  14. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    76,289
    de nada....reckon you've been here at TSG long enough.


    Grampaw. ;) Heck, I've only been here since 2k4.
     
  15. jgerman1

    jgerman1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    166
    You're right, I am a Grampaw:D

    Found this website when I was woking in IT for a bank a long time ago. Got a lot of problems solved from this board. Now I'm retired and enjoying it:D
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1037135

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice