1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: parity check/ memory parity error

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by cookie208, Sep 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cookie208

    cookie208 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    I have a Dell optiplex Gx520 that came up with this error. Haven't seen this one before. I am runnning xp pro. Any ideas on where to start would be greatly appreciated.

    Cookie208
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Have you installed any new ram lately?

    Access your bios setup, probably the F2 when starting up, exit bios and save changes, even though you made none.

    Another possibility, is that the small battery on the motherboard needs to be replaced.
     
  3. cookie208

    cookie208 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    I have made no changes to the computer. I will try the other 2 options. Thanks
     
  4. cookie208

    cookie208 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    I tried to save the bios and I changed the battery but have had no luck
     
  5. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Let's check the ram next. If you have more than one chip, test each one individually to see if the same problem happens.
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Also, is that the complete error message you are receiving? Or is there more?
     
  7. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Also, since you have a Dell, can you run the Dell Diagnostics?
     
  8. cookie208

    cookie208 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    It was the ram. Picked up a new one today and fired right up. Thank you
     
  9. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    (y) You're welcome. Thanks for marking the thread solved.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/746557

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice