Solved: Partition not visible/accessible

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

voip4africa

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 24, 2007
Messages
74
Hi everyone,

I partitioned my 40GB Seagate hard disk 10GB/30GB using the WinXP Professional install CD.

In the 10GB I installed WinXP with SP3.

After WinXP was installed and booted, I now notice I cannot see the 30GB partition anywhere. I even tried booting my PC with another WinXP drive, but same - the 30GB partition cannot be seen.

:confused:
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2006
Messages
4,469
Hi everyone,

I partitioned my 40GB Seagate hard disk 10GB/30GB using the WinXP Professional install CD.

In the 10GB I installed WinXP with SP3.

After WinXP was installed and booted, I now notice I cannot see the 30GB partition anywhere. I even tried booting my PC with another WinXP drive, but same - the 30GB partition cannot be seen.

:confused:
You need to format it.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
513
What does it say in disk management about the partition? Goto start > Run, type compmgmt.msc and press enter. Disk Management will be under Storage in the list on the left. If it says it is free space, then right-click and click format.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2006
Messages
4,469
What does it say in disk management about the partition? Goto start > Run, type compmgmt.msc and press enter. Disk Management will be under Storage in the list on the left. If it says it is free space, then right-click and click format.
Same for unallocated space.
 

voip4africa

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 24, 2007
Messages
74
Same for unallocated space.
There is no option to format. When I right-click, I just get the following options:
New Partition
Properties
Help

When I go to New Partition, it looks as if it's asking me whether I want to se up a new partition WITHIN this partition.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2006
Messages
4,469
There is no option to format. When I right-click, I just get the following options:
New Partition
Properties
Help

When I go to New Partition, it looks as if it's asking me whether I want to se up a new partition WITHIN this partition.
It may do that.

I'd say then you have a couple of options, but not limited to:
a) Create new one within the old making it as large as possible (which will probably be all or less 8 MB)

b) Get a third party partitioner to format it. Something like GPARTED-LiveCD
http://gparted-livecd.tuxfamily.org/
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top