1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: partition software

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by jlmlelal, Jan 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jlmlelal

    jlmlelal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    534
    First Name:
    Mark
    whats the best(easiest) to use to partion the hard drive
    any help is always apprecited
     
  2. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Partition Magic or Acronis Disk Director
     
  3. jlmlelal

    jlmlelal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    534
    First Name:
    Mark
    thanks bonk
    will have a look
     
  4. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,888
    First Name:
    Jay
    Acronis Disc Director.
    My copy of PM is in the local land fill ... cause it wouldn't work.
     
  5. jlmlelal

    jlmlelal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    534
    First Name:
    Mark
    thaks Noyb
    thought about acronis as was thinking of getting acronis true image
    again thanks for the reply
     
  6. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,888
    First Name:
    Jay
    Acronis True Image and Acronis Disc director .. are two different products.

    If you are (or can) build up a new drive .. from an older Drive ..
    You can partition it using Acronis True Image as you build up the new drive.
    No other Partitioning software needed.

    An external Hard Drive is VERY useful if you plan on getting ATI.
     
  7. jlmlelal

    jlmlelal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    534
    First Name:
    Mark
    thanks Noyb
    i was going to use ADD to partion the drive and ATI to make a back up of the drive and use the back up if anything went wrong instead of a full re-install please tell me if i am way of the mark
    thanks
     
  8. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,888
    First Name:
    Jay
    Do you have an external Hard Drive to put your ATI backups in ?????

    I don't like working on a functional HD ... Just in case something goes wrong.
    I usually buildup a new drive (or spare) ... using an ATI recovery image of the functional HD.
    Then I can partition the new HD during the ATI recovery ... and make sure everything works.

    This'll take an external HD .. and a spare (new) HD to build up.
    This is not a Full re-install ... it's the old install reworked.

    All my drives are partitioned ...
    One Small Partition (~50gig) for the operating system and installed programs only.
    The remainder of the HD is partitioned for Data only ... Edit ..Using Windows XP

    I Partitioned this way .. a long time before I found out ghost wouldn't work .. and before I got ADD

    Is this what you had in mind ??
     
  9. jlmlelal

    jlmlelal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    534
    First Name:
    Mark
    no i dont have an external drive
    i thought could partion my excisting drive a few times leaving one partion to use for back ups(if this is possible)sorry Noyb complete novice at this
     
  10. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    You do mean a different physical drive than the one your Operating System is on don't you.
     
  11. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,888
    First Name:
    Jay
    ATI has a Secure Zone function that will do this.... I think.
    Never used it (intentionally) but I think it'll make it's own Partition for a secure zone recovery partition.
    At least that's what I saw happen after I goofed once ... not sure what I did.

    This will be no good if the HD has a mechanical malfunction.
    If you want to get ATI and ADD .. You're on the right track...
    But all your eggs are in one fragile basket.

    Yes .. My second Data partition has Acroins backups in it for a fast recovery.
    But I also store them elsewhere for safer keeping ... like my External HDs.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. jlmlelal

    jlmlelal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    534
    First Name:
    Mark
    now starting to get the message(i think)
    at the mo yes all eggs in one basket (for now)
    i will be looking in to an external drive
    thanks for all you help and advice
     
  13. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    If you have a DVD writer you can put it on DVD also...that's what I do .....
     
  14. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,888
    First Name:
    Jay
    I didn't want to mention DVDs
    The last time I tried a DVD recovery ... That fit on two DVDs ...
    I gave up after it asked me to switch the DVDs about 25 times.
    It would read a split second .. then ask for the other DVD .. I was getting tired.

    I will make a DVD ATI recovery if I've performed a fresh install with a minimum number of programs installed.
    Then I'll turn off the XP system recovery .. to save space .. and burn an Acronis DVD.
    This usually fits on one DVD.

    Bonk .. Any input about this ??

    jlmlelal ... How much space is occupied in your C: drive ???
     
  15. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Noyb

    If I recall if you have 2 DVDs ATI backups.....you put the second one in first when you are doing a restore....so it knows how many there is.......so if you have 4 then put the fourth on in first......

    Maybe that's why you were having problems.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved partition software
  1. talktomaze
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    217
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/537489

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice