1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] Password expired

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Bobcoop103, Oct 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Bobcoop103

Bobcoop103 Thread Starter

I have been running XP for about 3 months now and suddenly when I try to boot up I get a message as follows:

Logon Message
    Your password has expired and must be changed.

When I click on OK a box appears asking for old password and a space to enter a new one.

To my knowledge there never was a password and now I can't get past this point. Can anyone help?

Thanks, Bob

2. jraquel

jraquel

Have you gotten passed the "password" yet?

3. Bobcoop103

No, I have not.

4. kiwiguy

kiwiguy

Imply pressing Enter in each box doesnt let you through? (null password)

5. MaDKiWi

MaDKiWi

Sounds like XP pro, and someone has played with your password and/or security settings.....
    Boot into safe mode, and log in as administrator which SHOULDNT have a password, unless you also set one. Go to your user panel and choose your particular user name and reset the password to your liking.... then restart and the problem should be gone.

6. Bruce319

Bruce319

It sounds like XP is warning about your password. Instead of clicking on OK, try clicking on Cancel to bypass the message then go into your control panel and double click on Users. Make any modications related to the password there.
    If you plan to start using a password, you can leave the "old password" blank and enter a new password in that message box.

7. mobo

mobo

Never heard of it really before. have you done any virus scans or trojan scans ?

8. Mr_Webmaster

Mr_Webmaster