Solved: pc performance`

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

steveg123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
18
hi there,
i just recently built my first pc and was just wondering if you can give me some input on what you think of my setup and how performance should be etc.specs are as follows>

amd phenomx4 9850
gigabyte radeon hd4870x2
4gb crucial ballistix 1066mhz ram 8500
seagate barracuda 500gb 7200rpm 32mb cache
gigabyte 780g mobo
vista premium 32bit
coolermaster 700w psu
coolermaster cosmos s case

also can you recommend 10 good games for pc to get other than crysis,world in conflict and company of heroes,call of duty 4

thanks in advance.
 
Joined
Apr 13, 2007
Messages
169
About the games, maybe Half Life 2 + episodes? Also Medieval: Total War and its expansion as well as Race Driver Grid.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
1,351
The processor will certainly be your downfall, quad core AMDs are very slow, a mid-high end dual core would be around as fast

Race driver grid isnt that good :) i lost interest preatty quickly. Go for Oblivion as well
 

steveg123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
18
how comes the dual core amd cpus are better performers than the quads? i was on a budget hence my choice of phenomx4 instead of intel quads
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
1,351
Dont really know, just know they are slower and perform worse in various tests, some tests i guess they would perform well in but overall they are slower, how much are the 9850s anyway? an Intel Q6600 is a very decent price, however you computer you would want something a little more powerful.
 

steveg123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
18
mine cost me 120.done a bit of looking up and wish i had gone for one of the intel core 2 quads,think it the q6600,been called the greatest cpu ever made, it also 120ish and although 2.4ghz versus my phenom 2.5ghz its apparently great for OC'ing oh well i can always oc my phenom up a few hundred mhz to give it a boost and if worst come to worst ill grab a intel mobo and cpu to match and pop that in instead.thanks for the input though.much appreciated
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top