Solved: PC slows down

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

majnus

Ok, I have had PCs for past 18 years, I know pretty much about them. I can put a PC together, I can install operating systems, format drives, partitions, fix things, I know servers and networks pretty well, and just to sum it up I am an IT expert at my workplace. So I know things pretty well, software-wise and hardware-wise.

And there it is, that one thing, I have never came across, and it just drives me mad. I have no idea what it is.

Basically what's happening is my pc is getting slow. It comes suddenly, on a random day. Once a week, once a month. I'm just working away, and it just slows down. It does everything I want it to do, except it's like 10-100x slower. When this "thing" happens, the windows is starting for anywhere between 30-60 minutes. When I click "start", it takes few minutes to start panel to show up. Literally. Same for everything else - opening folders, applications, anything. And it will stay that slow for 4-6 hours. There is nothing I can do to fix it, no matter what I do, it needs this 4-6h to just fix itself. Same in safe mode. Even If I turn it off for few days, it will resume being slow next time I start it up, and it needs to stay on and I need to wait through it.

- it's not the applications fault, as all pc's in my work are with the same software installed and they're all fine.
- it's not the virus or malware - I have always up to date antivirus "norton end point security", also I'm running malware bytes once in a while. Nothing found. System is always clean.
- I have ran the HP Diagnostic tools, scanned hard drive, memory - everything seems to be perfectly fine.
- I have formatted the drive and re-installed the system - did not help.